Woodlawn gets Hewins to coach basketball

June 10, 1994|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Sun Staff Writer

Catonsville resident Dan Ross Hewins, a former assistant coach at High Point and DeMatha in Prince George's County, has accepted the job as head basketball coach at Woodlawn, the school's principal confirmed yesterday.

Woodlawn principal Alex Murphy selected Hewins on Wednesday to replace Rod Norris, who wasn't brought back after five years despite reaching the state playoffs the past two seasons.

The move ended a three-week period during which Murphy -- who enters his third year at Woodlawn this fall -- and Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association president and Baltimore County coordinator of athletics Ron Belinko interviewed "at least 15 highly qualified candidates, including three college coaches," Murphy said.

"There were many, many candidates, and he [Hewins] was head and shoulders above the rest," said Murphy.

Hewins, who will teach in Woodlawn's science department, just completed his ninth year as an assistant at High Point to Ernie Welch.

Prior to High Point, Hewins assisted Morgan Wootton at DeMatha from 1981 to 1986 and spent a year as an assistant at Bladensburg in 1980.

"He had a very strong reputation for his teaching in biology, and of course, he brings experience from one of the stronger basketball programs in the country," said Murphy. "He's already met with members of the Booster Club. He plans to meet with some of his student-athletes today [Thursday] and with their parents on Tuesday."

Norris' teams were 94-22 over his five-year career at Woodlawn, including 44-3 since Murphy took over as principal.

The Warriors finished the 1993-1994 season ranked No. 9 with a 20-2 record, having lost only to two higher-ranked teams.

Woodlawn lost to 2A state champion Dunbar during the regular season and to Southwestern in the 4A state playoffs.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.