Happy birthday to all and especially Louise


June 01, 1994|By BONITA FORMWALT

"I can't believe you're not going to take advantage of this opportunity," said my friend, shaking her head. "How often do you think a chance like this comes along!"

We were discussing how best to handle a request to slip a surprise birthday wish into my column.

"This is hardly 'Lordy, Lordy, Buster's Forty.' We're talking about the county executive's press secretary. Wish Louise Hayman a happy birthday in your column and suddenly you're, you're. . . ."

Glen Burnie's version of Willard Scott, I suggested coolly.

"Don't be ridiculous. I'm pretty sure she's not 100 years old." She lowered her voice, "Think about this. Maybe they would feel indebted to you."

For a brief moment I envisioned how I could use this potential power for the betterment of my community.

Maybe an announcement from Mr. Neall's office changing the Ordnance Road jail site to a strip of vacant stores in the Severna Park Mall.

Possibly a press release urging legislation to seize the property of citizens who continually display holiday decorations 60 days past the actual holiday.

Or a car.

"That last item seems a little self-serving," said my friend.

Perhaps. But the sacrifice of journalistic integrity warrants some compensation, I replied. Besides, I bet Willard Scott gets a car.

In the end I decided on a generic, bipartisan greeting to all my readers.

Many happy returns of the day, Glen Burnie. And Louise.


The accolades continue with the list of honorees at the Glen Burnie Senior High annual award program.

Sports awards went to:

Sherri L. Witt, Kathryn Frantum Athletic Award for the outstanding female scholar athlete.

Todd C. Barto, "Pop" Whayland Athletic Award for the outstanding male scholar athlete and House of Delegates Scholarship.

Kalyani S. Fernando, Jean Boyd Award for female athlete.

Courtney V. Eldridge, Paul Rusko Award for male athlete.

Juniors and seniors received Most Valuable Player awards for individual sports achievements and four-year letters:

Jimmy Dulay, MVP football.

Sabrina Whitlock, senior MVP volleyball; Heather Hutson, junior MVP.

Sherri Witt, girl's soccer MVP and four-year letter; Valerie Ogle, four-year letter.

Jose Arjona, boys' soccer MVP.

Shane Brooks, junior golf MVP.

Fred Davenport, wrestling MVP.

Bridget Davis, junior girl's basketball MVP.

William Brown, boys' basketball MVP.

Mandy Buckheit, cheerleaders MVP and four-year letter.

Samantha Miller, junior softball MVP.

Kenneth Baker, baseball MVP; Keith Volkman, four-year letter.

Seth Murphy, boys' lacrosse MVP.

Tiffany Tebo, girls' lacrosse MVP.

Christopher Robey, tennis MVP.

Meghan Matukonis, junior tennis MVP.

Rebecca McDivitt, junior cross country MVP.

Hans Geineder, junior indoor track MVP.

Tanya Doy, junior indoor track MVP (11th); Denise Warren, junior indoor track MVP.

Charles Grubb, track and field MVP.

Sonya Martin, track and field MVP.

Department awards went to:

Art -- Sonya D. Martin, ceramics; Amy C. Namsiriwan, drawing and painting; Tina M. Riley, crafts; Rebekah L. Buba, photography.

Business -- Ella M. Walker, accounting; Christy L. Kelbaugh, diversified occupations; Mable Means, business computers I; Patricia M. Shockley, business computers II; Gracy L. Reihl, marketing; Gina M. Cherrico, office technology II; Valerie A. Burris, word processing.

Computer Science -- Kenneth A. Green.

Dance -- Stephanie L. LeCompte, choreography and performance.

Drama -- Amy Kreglow and Benjamin M. Yancey.

English -- Tamara A. Kitchner, creative writer; Joanna L. Walley, critical writing; Christopher P. Demanss, intermediate composition; Shannon M. Kelly, literary magazine; Julie A. Nefferdorf, literature and yearbook.

Foreign Language -- Julie A. Nefferdorf, French; Jennifer E. Schwabline, Spanish; Cindy L. Naumann, German.

Home Economics -- Michelle L. Smith, child development; Shannon M. Jolliffe, nutrition; Karey L. Kaminski, parenting.

Math -- Shuzhou Shen.

Music -- Andrea Schafer Johnson, chorus; Kevin A. Morgan, chorus; Anthony W. Jordan Jr., concert band; Christopher J. Adams, marching band; Laura A. Jackson, piano.

Physical Education -- Shannon L. Grimes and Christopher D. Ring.

Science -- Bridget C. Callahan, biology; Jennifer E. Schwabline, biology; Diane M. Blair, chemistry; Shuzhou Shen, physics.

Social Studies -- Kenneth A. Green.

Technology Education -- Steven K. Barbour, architecture; Laura E. Smith, architecture; Frank G. Kirchner, technology; Wayne C. Welch, technology.

Moon Suk Chung and Tamara A. Kitchner, audio-visual.

Benjamin M. Yancey, stage crew manager.


A limited number of tables are still available for a flea market/bake sale being held by VFW Post 160, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. TTC Sunday at the post home, 2597 Dorsey Road.

Spaces are $10 alone or $15 with a table. To reserve a space, call 437-1099.


Twenty-five years of service to the elderly will be celebrated at the Maryland Manor Convalescent Center Spring Fling, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday.

Activities for all ages are scheduled, including a craft show, clowns, puppet show, a pet parade and an antique car show.

Members of the Lost in the 50s car club will display their vintage automobiles.

Swing to do-wop. Just Say DJ's will entertain with golden classics.

The center is at 7575 Howard Road. For information, call Sherril Rundle, 768-8200.


Three young ladies will compete for the title of Miss Junior Glen Burnie Volunteer Fire Prevention, 2 p.m. Saturday at the Glen Burnie Improvement Association Hall, 19 Crain Highway.

Stephanie Barner, Kristi Beit and Lesa Berrette will be judged on poise and their knowledge of fire safety and prevention.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.