Student artists shine in state 'Reflections'


May 31, 1994|By NATALIE HARVEY

A number of East Columbia students are the proud recipients of the Maryland Congress of Parents and Teachers Inc. 1993/94 statewide "Reflections" arts contest awards.

The students' work was judged in grades and subject categories. Valerie Brammer of Oakland Mills High School won first place and Sonia Keiner of Hammond High School placed second in the photography category for grades 10 through 12.

Russell Brammer of Oakland Mills Middle School placed second in photography for grades four to six, and Julie Frostbutter of Hammond Elementary School won an Outstanding Interpretation music award for grades four to six.


Howard County Executive Charles I. Ecker was host at ceremonies last Tuesday recognizing Girl Scouts who have earned Gold Scout awards and Boy Scouts who have achieved Eagle Scout, and our side of town had its share of honorees.

The East Columbia Girl Scouts were: Sarah Himmelheber of Troop 1657 and Jamie Smith of Troop 58.

The Boy Scouts were: Harold Burgess, Joel Hampshire and Eric Larsen of Troop 75; Timothy Rollins of Troop 305; Bryce Armstrong, Ryan Armstrong, David Brewer, Justin Cooper, Brian Meyer and Nigel Ridgeway of Troop 361; Brian deGuzman and Daniel Ryder of Troop 601; Bryan Drake, Christopher Correll, Patrick Moulding and Trent Prange of Troop 874; and Robert Tull of Troop 618.


Summer sun is welcomed by everyone, but it also can be dangerous.

In an effort to prevent skin damage, Columbia Association swimming pool staff members have attended skin awareness training; umbrellas have been placed at lifeguard stations; and baseball caps and T-shirts are part of the mandatory lifeguard uniform. And, eight-hour sunscreen will be provided for all pool staff members.

It is hoped that providing a good example will alert swimmers, too. Sun shade structures are being installed at pools, and sunscreen will be sold at all pools for members who forget to pack their own.


Stevens Forest Elementary School's PTA extends a thank-you to Chris Stetson. Her organization and hard work for the bake sale at the school's Spring Fling Festival brought in a total of $450, which will be used to acquire new physical education equipment for the students.


Have you been a victim of crime or fear that the potential is there? Then you will want to attend the Long Reach Community Town Meeting at 7:30 p.m. Monday. The meeting will be in the Tamar Room at Stonehouse Community Center in Long Reach Village Shopping Center.

Residents are invited to discuss vandalism, graffiti and property damage. Bring your suggestions and ideas for law enforcement and/or legislation.

County and state lawmakers, police officers and others are expected to attend. Information: 730-8113.


Parents, families, friends and neighbors are invited to attend the Stevens Forest Elementary School's Spring concert at Oakland Mills High School at 7:30 p.m. June 9.

Eileen Buckmiller is the choral director and Wayne Binder is band director.


Registration for the Columbia Association's fall before- and after-school care begins tomorrow.

Enrollment is limited and parents are urged to register early. Forms are available at the schools, at the CA Member Desk in The Mall in Columbia, and at the association's office at 10221 Wincopin Circle. Information: 410-715-3167 or 410-715-3164.


Stevens Forest Elementary School's Citizens of the Month were honored at an assembly May 19.

School teams and students are: from the Sassafras Team -- Sarah Choi, Martha Wilmoth, Arielle Karp, Brandon Thorton, Candace Sommerville and Elizabeth Gray.

From the Dogwood Team -- Melinda Breeden, Andrew LoPresto, David Barnes, Kyle McGehee, Timothy Wu, Meggie Tortolero, Lori Pierson and Joel Selby.

Representing the Oak Team -- Brandon Johnson, Shavar Copes, Ashley Leighty and Karan Chopra.

From the Tulip Team -- Valerie Freund, Rieka Plugge, Scott Kimber, Crystal Starace and Steven Zwobot

From the Cherry Team -- Ryan Bare and Alex Price.


Middle school parents are invited to attend Parenting for Success workshops next month, beginning at 7:30 p.m. tomorrow with "Parents, Parties, Priorities and Limits" at Mount View Middle School, 12101 Woodford Drive, in Marriottsville.

"Drugs and Alcohol: Teaching Your Young to Stay Sober" will be at 7:30 p.m. June 9 at Clarksville Middle School, 6535 Trotter Road

Information: 313-6671.


St. John the Evangelist boys and girls who received their first communion on May 14 were: Casey Carlin, Sarah Chappell, John Geddes, Matthew Grazio, Claudy Jules, Laura Krohn, Nicole Lazarek, Cole Licieratos, Caitlin Moore, Elizabeth Penniman, Audrey Pietrzyk, Daniel Rappaport, Gregory Rappaport, Timothy Reichner, Derek Sharp, Jason Thompson, Taralyn Trunk, Kristin Werner and Sean Williams.

Father Patrick Carrion was celebrant, and Jenny Penniman taught the children.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.