Monument for 4 killed in Vietnam to be dedicated Memorial Day


May 27, 1994|By KATHY SUTPHIN

"Let no vandalism or avarice or neglect, no ravages of time, testify to the present or to the coming generations, that we have forgotten as a people the cost of a free and undivided Republic."

These words, spoken by Gen. John A. Logan more than 125 years ago, will be of special significance Monday at Mount Airy's Memorial Day Service at Pine Grove Chapel.

The quotation from the man who started the annual tradition of decorating the graves of veterans in May 1868 has been carefully etched onto one side of the new monument to Mount Airy's war dead. On the face of the memorial stone are the names of four Mount Airy servicemen who died while serving their country during the Vietnam War.

The monument pays tribute to Ronald M. Kenny, who was killed Feb. 19, 1966; Russell M. Amoss, who was killed Jan. 31, 1968; Everett E. Justice Jr., killed Feb. 7, 1968; and Herbert E. Mulkey Jr., killed March 2, 1971.

The stone has been erected by the residents, veterans' organizations, service clubs and the Town of Mount Airy, said Art Brett, Memorial Monument Committee member.

Placed beside the existing stone, which was dedicated in 1957 to the memory of Mount Airy's war dead from World War I, World War II and the Korean War, the new monument will be dedicated Monday by another committee member, Mayor Gerald Johnson. The ceremony will begin at 11 a.m. in front of Pine Grove Chapel on South Main Street.

The new stone was the product of a joint effort by the 11 members of the Memorial Monument Committee. Leading the effort was David Greenwalt, an Eldersburg resident and publisher of the Mount Airy News. "He was the spark plug behind it to pull us together," said Mr. Brett. "We realized it had been needed for a long time."

"We just felt that the Vietnam veterans needed special recognition over and above because they got the shaft during and after the war," said Mayor Johnson. "This is fitting that it

should be something separate."

He noted that there is space on the new monument for additional names if needed in the future. "I hope we never have to add any more to it," he said.

Serving on the monument committee with Mr. Greenwalt, Mayor Johnson and Mr. Brett are Brett Beall, Herman Beck Jr., Phil Dorsey, Doug Henley, Jim Helsel, Sam Jewell, Andy Mason, Travis Norwood and Tom Wagner. From research to fund raising, group members divided the duties for planning the memorial, said Mr. Brett. The committee has been meeting monthly since August 1993.

One goal of the committee was to have a monument "match the other as much as possible so that each complemented the other," said Mr. Brett. The match was made by R. S. Kinnaird Memorials of Thurmont, which crafted the monument in Salisbury pink granite.

Contributors to the cost of the monument include: Mount Airy Lions Club, American Legion Post 191, the Auxiliary to American Legion Post 191, Mount Airy Kiwanis Club, VFW Post 10076, the Auxiliary to the Mount Airy Fire Department, Prudence Masonic Lodge No. 190 of Mount Airy, Jones Motors, Mount Airy Rotary Club, Mount Airy News, Capt. and Mrs. William Self and Mr. and Mrs. David Sheehan.

Mayor Johnson said the cost of the new monument is just more than $2,200, which the committee hopes to cover and get additional funds so that shrubs and a walkway can be added. "We want to make it like a little garden," he said.

Donations, made payable to the Memorial Monument Committee, may be sent in care of the Mount Airy Town Hall, P.O. Box 48, Mount Airy, Md. 21771.

Members of the community, including area youngsters, are encouraged to attend the Memorial Day service Monday. It will begin outside the historic chapel with the traditional raising of the U.S. flag and lowering it to half-staff.

After the dedication of the new monument, the ceremony will move inside the chapel for a program of prayer, patriotic hymns and remembrances of veterans who served the country from the Civil War to the Persian Gulf War. Mayor Johnson is the guest speaker for the service, which has been a Mount Airy tradition since 1947. He said patriotism will be the topic of his speech.

The placing of a wreath at the two monuments and the traditional 21-gun salute will conclude the service. The Marine Corps has been invited to provide an honor guard, bugler and rifle firing detail.

Everyone attending the ceremony is invited to American Legion Post 191 at 801 Prospect Road after the service. Light refreshments will be served by members of Post 191's Auxiliary.


Congratulations to the new officers of the Mount Airy Area Jaycees, who were installed at the club's awards banquet May 7.

President Dave Bohrer will lead the service club as president for the coming year, with support from the vice presidents: Sonny Hager, management development; Gary Hymiller, community development; Karen Burroughs, individual development; and Ruth Muller, membership development.

Other members of the board installed for the 1994-95 term are: John Herko, state director; Elaine Bohrer, acting secretary acting; Faith Bryan, treasurer; Mike Wyatt, management director; Laurie Hager, community director; Terri Herko, membership director; and W. Scott Elliott, chairman of the board.

Special kudos to Laurie Hager, who was honored as Jaycee of the Year, and to Da'Nita Kinna, who was honored as First Year Jaycee of the Year. Longtime Mount Airy Jaycee Walt Dutton received the highest chapter award with his induction into the Maryland Militia. Sonny Hager, Karen Burroughs, Da'Nita Kinna and Faith Bryan were also recognized as Jaycees of the Quarters.

The Mount Airy Jaycees are always interested in adding members. Residents ages 21 to 39 who would like to know more about the service club are encouraged to call Ruth Muller at (410) 775-0004 or Laurie Hager at (301) 831-7819.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.