4 high school teachers are honored


May 24, 1994|By NATALIE HARVEY

Four East Columbia high school teachers were honored at ceremonies Friday at the University of Maryland at Baltimore.

Oakland Mills' William Craig, Barbara Jewett and Robert Siskind and Hammond's Linda Kreitlow have been selected to participate in the Martin Marietta Graduate Fellows Program this summer.

The program places mathematics and science fellows in research laboratories working with mentor scientists with the goal of enhancing these subjects in Maryland schools and building "bridges" between classrooms and laboratories.

Mr. Craig, chairman of Oakland Mills mathematics department, will intern at Central Maryland Research & Education Center on Folly Quarter Road. Ms. Jewett, who heads the school's science department, will be working at the Center for Agricultural Biotechnology at the University of Maryland's College Park campus.

Mr. Siskind, who also teaches science at Oakland Mills, will intern at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt.

Ms. Kreitlow will spend her internship at Johns Hopkins University's Applied Physics Laboratory near Columbia.

All of the teachers are graduates of the Governor's Academy for Mathematics, Science and Technology at Towson State University, which is a requisite for applying for the fellowship.


Tourisme Scolaire, a nonprofit high school exchange organization, is offering Howard County families the opportunity to be host to students from France.

The students will be arriving in August for 20 days. Host families are asked to provide room and board and tender loving care.

Information: 461-7362.


Cosmetologist Tracy Schulhoff will teach a four-session class "Beautiful Nails and Skin" for girls, 11 to 14 years old, beginning at 4 p.m. June 6 at the Columbia Teen Center in Oakland Mills Village Center.

Cost is $30 for residents; $32 for nonresidents. Registration: 992-3726.


Graduating seniors from all local high schools and their families are invited to attend an Interfaith Baccalaureate Service in their honor at 7:30 p.m. Sunday at Wilde Lake Interfaith Center.

Seniors are asked to bring their caps and gowns for the celebration. Rev. Bernard Keels will be the featured speaker.


Sharon Burgoon, reading specialist at Jeffers Hill Elementary School, reports that the following students' names have been added during the past month to Readers of the Day:

Samantha Guevara, Lee Fox, Ciara Adeyemo, T.J. Faudale, Brian Trudel, Joseph Romero, Jason Unger, Ashleigh Carver, Kyle Stewart, Whitney Harvey, Rachel Pendergrast, Jonathan Buechler, Katie Benson, Kyle O'Connor, Colin Dotson, Megan Brohawn, Ryan Chilcoat, Carrie Sniffen, Richard Wilton and Ettay Webb.


Amherst House in Kings Contrivance Village is compiling a list of "odd job" workers. There seems to be a need for people willing to mow lawns, so stop in and list your specialty.


Like ceramics, but can't decide which method to try? Crossover Works in Clay at Columbia Art Center in Long Reach Village Shopping Center could be your answer.

Nancy McIntosh's workshop will teach techniques in construction in both hand-built and wheel-thrown forms. To register or to get information about the June 4 workshop, call 730-0075.


Many young parishioners celebrated their first Eucharist at St. John the Evangelist this month.

On May 7, Rev. Patrick Carrion was the celebrant for: Stephen Babish, Jennifer Clary, Benjamin Cramer, Megan D'Andrade, Brandi Groglio, Jonathan Kochanski, Zachary Koterba, Scott Landolt, Victoria Lui, Julia Michniewicz, Terrence Nolan, Kenneth O'Donnell, Brendan O'Donnell, Molly Pieplow, David Price, Kristina Rosa, Matthew Rothwell, Steven Siani, Jacob Spain, Meghan Sullivan, Brittany Surkovich, Martin Winters and Rebecca Yaffe.

Their teacher was Catherine Spain.

On May 8, Andrew Carver received his first communion from Father Carrion. Patty Pelszynski was his teacher.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.