2nd marketing award is captured by HCCA Howard Community...


May 23, 1994

2nd marketing award is captured by HCC

A Howard Community College program has won a second national award this year for excellence in marketing of academic programs.

HCC's James W. Rouse Scholars Program received a 1994 Circle of Excellence Award in the Special Student Recruitment Projects division from the Council for Advancement and Support of Education.

HCC staff cited in the award were Barbara Greenfield, director of admissions and testing services, and Randy Bengfort, director of marketing and public relations.

In March, the program received a Paragon Award from the National Council for Marketing and Public relations at the organization's annual conference in Atlanta.

The Rouse Scholars Program is a custom two-year honors curriculum in instruction, mentoring and leadership development.

Outstanding students honored at banquet

Howard Community College honored students for outstanding academic, service and athletic achievements at its 17th annual awards banquet recently.

Millie Kreuter of Columbia won the 1994 Gay C. Heitlinger Award. Criteria for the award are grade-point average, dependability, improvement in the administration of nursing care, involvement in civic and college activities and a positive attitude.

Rocky Kathuria of Columbia received the Peer Tutor Award for his tutoring in math and computer science. Selected as Student Employee of the Year was Lloyd George of Columbia, who was commended for his work in the microcomputer services department.

Dawn Kovach of Laurel received the Lab Assistant of the Year Award for her work in the nursing lab. The Wall Street Journal Award, which honors an outstanding business or accounting student, was given to Carol Wright of Columbia.

Awards based on academic achievement and extracurricular activities were presented to nine students: Mary Shatrowsky of Laurel, the Health Services Award; Claire Ferguson of Laurel, the English/Foreign Language Award; Peter Marano of Columbia, the Humanities Award; Carol Lindberg of Laurel, the Performing Arts Award; Julie Bellora of Columbia, the Science Achievement Award; Stanley Buck of Columbia, the Technology Award; Elena Kovalera of Columbia, the Mathematic Achievement Award; Debra Pappy of Clarksville, the Social Science Award; and Barbara Gibson of Woodstock, the Social Science Career Service Award.

Athletic awards for outstanding performance were presented to Thor Campbell of West Friendship for track; Columbia residents Kamau Street and Richard Avent for men's basketball; David Bowyer of Clarksville for soccer; Gregory Macphee of Columbia for cross country; Sherry O'Riley of Ellicott City for women's tennis and Bill Stead of Laurel for men's tennis.

Also honored were HCC track and cross-country coach, Steve Musselman; men's basketball coach, Wheeler Brown; tennis coach, Ira Crawley; and soccer coach, Errick Hanlon.

The William T. Manning Alumnus of the Year Award was given to Stuart Maynard, a 1978 graduate of HCC's nursing program who is a nurse psychotherapist in private practice.

The Counter Courtesy Award, given to an HCC office that exhibits to students friendliness and willingness to serve, was presented to the staff of the Admissions, Records and Registration and Financial Aid.

Also recognized was Columbia resident Michael Mohen, editor of the student newspaper; Nicole Driessen of Columbia, who served as Student Program Board president, and Tammy Rhodes of Silver Spring, who served as Student Government president.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.