South fields 3 teams for tourney

May 09, 1994|By Katherine Dunn

Many of the Baltimore area's top high school girls lacrosse players were selected for the South District teams to compete Memorial Day weekend at the U.S. Women's Lacrosse Association National Schoolgirl Tournament near Philadelphia.

This year's tournament, running May 28 and 29 at Germantown Academy, includes more teams than ever.

The South teams, to include players from Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Virginia, will compete against teams from Chesapeake, which includes Anne Arundel County and part of Howard County, as well as teams from New England, Long Island, New York, New Jersey, Philadelphia, Ohio, California and Colorado.

South I finished second in last year's tournament, dropping the championship game by one goal to Philadephia's top team.

Last Sunday, 130 girls tried out for 60 spots on three teams to represent the South District. Each member school could send three field players and a goalie to try out.

Selected for South I: Peggy Boutilier, Melissa Cully, Melissa Coyne, Roland Park; Tice Burke, St. Paul's; Heather Castle, Tricia Cummings, Notre Dame Prep; Katie Loovis, Seton Keough; Aubin McCarthy, Shawny Nellums, Friends; Liza Shoemaker, Jacque Weitzel, Garrison Forest; and Aimee Vaughan, Dulaney. Wendy Kridel of Roland Park is one of two coaches.

On South II: Sheehan Stanwick, Notre Dame Prep, Jody Cowan, Caroline Jones, Oldfields; Summer Downing, Friends; Natalie Hannibal, Liberty; Emily Hickman, Bryn Mawr; Meghann Mohler, Catonsville; Catherine Passano, Roland Park; Amy Rafalski, Bel Air; Erin Shipley, Parkville; Page Watts and Kate White, St. Paul's. Among the coaches is Sandy Hoody, St. Paul's.

South III includes Lacy Aumiller, Notre Dame Prep; Debbi Bourke, Liberty; Upkar Chana, Glenelg; Holly Milanicz, Parkville; Nancy Sawyer, St. Paul's; and Alexa Wilder, Park. IND's Beth Bollinger will coach.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.