Mount Airy re-elects Town Council president

May 03, 1994|By Jackie Powder | Jackie Powder,Sun Staff Writer

Mount Airy residents yesterday elected Council President Delaine Hobbs to a ninth term on the Mount Airy Town Council and elected Robert Mead to his first term on the panel.

Mayor Gerald Johnson, who ran unopposed, was elected to a second term as mayor with 262 votes.

Mr. Hobbs, 59, who has served 28 years on the council, received 236 votes. He was among three candidates who were running for two council seats in the Mount Airy municipal elections yesterday.

Robert Mead, 58, who ran unsuccessfully for a council seat in 1990, garnered 192 votes yesterday.

Michael Boyer, who finished third, received 135 votes.

A total of 304 Mount Airy residents voted in yesterday's elections, said Mason Wilburn, chairman of the elections commission.

The revitalization of Main Street and the question of whether Mount Airy needs a town manager are major issues facing the town, Mr. Hobbs and Mr. Mead said. Mr. Hobbs said several studies have recommended downtown improvements.

Mr. Hobbs, who owns People's Lumber on Main Street, said he wants to be involved with upgrading the town's wastewater treatment plant.

Mr. Mead, sales manager at Joe Grimm Ford in Eldersburg, said his management experience and participation in town activities have prepared him for a seat on the council.

Mr. Mead served on the Friendly Acres Homeowners Association Board for nine years and was its president from 1987 to 1990. He is a member of the Mount Airy and Carroll County Cable Television Commission. He said he helped secure a franchise agreement with Frederick Cablevision two years ago that gave Mount Airy residents a choice between the Frederick company and Prestige Cable Television of Westminster.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.