Voters go to polls in Aberdeen and Havre de Grace

May 01, 1994|By Mike Farabaugh | Mike Farabaugh,Sun Staff Writer

Voters in Aberdeen will fill two council seats and decide if they want a new mayor Tuesday, while their counterparts in Havre de Grace will choose from among eight candidates vying for three council seats.

Aberdeen Mayor Ruth Elliott is being challenged by Councilman Charles R. Boutin.

Mrs. Elliott won the city's first popular mayoral election in 1992.

Previously, the commissioners appointed an honorary mayor from the council.

In her first term, Mrs. Elliott frequently tangled with council members on matters related to the adoption of a new city charter and the investigations surrounding the city Police Department and its chief, Jack Jolley.

Mr. Boutin, an attorney, has vowed to bring to the mayor's office a new management style, one that he said will support the will of the majority after the council has voted.

Mr. Boutin's council seat as well as that of incumbent DeWayne Curry must be decided.

Candidates for those seats are Mr. Curry, Robert Barnhart, Richard Meinert, Nancy Leigh Riley, Juanita "Sue" Stuchinski and Mary Lou Thompson.

Aberdeen's 5,127 registered voters may cast their ballots between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. at the senior center, 60 N. Parke St.

In Havre de Grace incumbents Anna M. Long and Joseph W. Kochenderfer are seeking their fifth and third terms, respectively.

The six other candidates hoping to win one of those seats or a third seat held by Philip G. Angelini Jr. -- who is stepping down after six terms on the council -- are Jerry I. Ashby, David Malin, Patricia K. Ryan, Henry J. Schreiber, David W. Walden and Patricia J. Wardell.

In Havre de Grace, there are 4,323 registered voters.

They may vote between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. at the high school, 700 Congress Ave.

Election results will be confirmed and announced officially on Wednesday.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.