5 nominated to Manchester council

April 14, 1994|By From Staff Reports

Five people were nominated to fill the Manchester Town Council seat vacated last month by Robert Kolodziejski.

And Tuesday night, in what seems to be standard operating procedure in dealing with unexpired terms, the four remaining council members deadlocked on the five nominees.

At least it only took 20 minutes, said Kelly Baldwin, the town's clerk/treasurer.

Could this be a repeat of the 10-vote process the council went through to place Christopher D'Amario in the seat vacated in September by John A. Riley?

"I really hope not," Ms. Baldwin said.

When Mr. Riley, a Manchester resident who is the town manager in Hampstead, resigned in September, the council took 10 separate votes over five months before Mr. D'Amario was chosen.

Mr. Riley resigned after a state attorney general's report said his position in Hampstead could be considered a conflict of interest with his council position in Manchester.

Mr. Kolodziejski resigned last month after nearly three years on the council, saying he couldn't devote enough time to town business. He also cited personal reasons.

In Tuesday's voting, council members Kathryn L. Riley and Douglas Myers nominated -- and voted for -- Marion Nash of Charmil Drive and Helen Bankert, who regularly attends council meetings.

Council members Charlotte Collett and Mr. D'Amario nominated and voted for Michael Stielper, an activist and former member of the Ad Hoc Water and Sewer Committee; Robin Yingling, a council candidate in the last election; and Ray Unger, another council candidate and member of the town's tree commission.

In voting last year to fill Mr. Riley's seat, Mr. Kolodziejski and Ms. Collett voted together, as did Ms. Riley and Mr. Myers.

Ms. Baldwin said the council will try again to fill the new vacancy at its April 27 meeting.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.