Petrilli put in hall of fame for state football coaches

March 29, 1994|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Sun Staff Writer

Ben Petrilli, a former coach at Mount St. Joseph, Parkville and Loch Raven, was inducted Friday into the state's Hall of Fame by The Maryland Scholastic Football Coaches Association.

From 1961 to 1987, Petrilli amassed a record of 111-42 -- a 73 percent winning ratio -- beginning at Loch Raven. In all, Petrilli's teams reached the playoffs five times and reached the finals once.

To be inducted, a candidate has to be at least 50 years old and retired from coaching for five years.

The coaches association also honored six recipients of the John W. Voight assistant coach award, including Overlea's present assistant Elmer Dize, who also served at Mervo. The award is presented to the state's outstanding assistants with at least 20 years of service.

Gaels keep grappling

Led by Danny DeVivo, The Baltimore Sun's All-Metro Wrestler of the Year, Mount St. Joseph wrestlers excelled at last weekend's Hammond Open Tournament.

DeVivo, this year's National Prep Tournament runner-up and a two-time Maryland Scholastic Association champ, pinned his way to the 171-pound title in the Elite Division.

DeVivo's teammates, MSA champs David Inkman (an All-Metro pick) and second-team All-Metro Russell Fecteau each competed for the 135-pound crown of the Elite Division, with Inkman winning, 10-8, in overtime.

The Gaels' two-time MSA runner-up Jake Lissau (125) won, 6-0, over Dundalk's two-time regional champ Dan Simancek, who was fourth in the states. Teammate Tyran Dungee was first at 152.

In an upset, the Gaels' No. 3-ranked, MSA champ and National Prep runner-up Kenny Hunter (Hvy) was pinned by Loch Raven's county and regional runner-up R.J. Meyer.

In the Open Division, Gilman assistant coach Rob Newsome surprised Navy's All-American heavyweight Dan Hicks, taking him into overtime before losing, 2-1, on riding criteria. Poly's former MSA champ and University of Maryland graduate Kevin Brown was third.

Kirk Center to be renamed

The Cecil Kirk Recreation Center will be renamed the Reggie Lewis Recreation Center in honor of the former Dunbar and Boston Celtics star who died last summer.

The center will be the site for an Easter Showcase basketball tournament April 5-8, sponsored by the Department of Recreation and Parks' Project Reach One, Teach One.

The tournament will be open for boys and girls between ages 8-18 and also will have separate categories in the unlimited divisions for both men and women.

There will be competition for girls 11 and under and 12-15, and for boys 8-10, 10-12, 12-14 and 14-16.

For information, call Sherron Bogues or Anthony Lewis at either (410) 396-0848 or (410) 396-7019.

D&M Storm in Nationals

Runner-up D&M Storm, sponsored by Dolly Mason painting and drywall company, was the highest-placing U.S. team in the National Indoor Soccer Championships two weekends ago in Atlanta.

The team, coached by Sparrows Point soccer coach Tom Karle and comprised of players from Harford and Baltimore counties, lost the title game, 4-2, to Maveral Magic of Ontario, Canada.

Top scorers were Chris Roberts (four goals) of North Harford, Fallston's Brett Birkmire and Sparrows Point's Jeff Harrison with three goals each, and -- with two goals each -- Eric Litras (C. Milton Wright), Wayne Brinkley (Sparrows Point) and Jason Lockerman (Bel Air).

Roberts scored the game-winner in a sudden-death shoot-out quarterfinal victory over Slin-Soc of Utah, and Birkmire did the same in an overtime semifinal victory over SCB/Post 38 of Baltimore.

Defender Matt Youngerman (C. Milton Wright) was named to the All-Tournament team and Mike Griffith (Patapsco) played well in goal. Youngerman, Phil Dicke (Sparrows Point), Alex Urban (Bel Air), John Sigai (Sparrows Point), Brian Doherty (Perry Hall), Joe Wilson (Sparrows Point) and Brian Neberline (Perry Hall) each

scored once.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.