Ryan J. McDonnellEighth-graderRyan James McDonnell, 13, an...

March 28, 1994

Ryan J. McDonnell


Ryan James McDonnell, 13, an eighth-grader at Arbutus Middle School, died Friday at St. Agnes Hospital from injuries he received when his bicycle was struck by a car.

Ryan was struck Friday at Leeds Avenue and Greystone Road, near his home in the 900 block of Regina Drive in Arbutus.

Born in Baltimore, Ryan was an altar server at Our Lady of Victory Roman Catholic Church in Arbutus and a member of the Gifted and Talented Art Program at his school, where he was an honor student.

He played baseball for the Arbutus Little League and soccer for Our Lady of Victory Church.

A Mass of Christian burial will be offered at 10 a.m. tomorrow at Our Lady of Victory Church, 4416 Wilkens Ave.

He is survived by his parents, James and Patricia McDonnell; a brother, Sean William McDonnell; and a sister, Brigid Quinn McDonnell.

S. Gertrude Hasson

School principal

Sarah Gertrude "Gert" Hasson, a former elementary school principal in Montgomery and Cecil counties, died Friday at Harford Memorial Hospital in Havre de Grace of heart failure. She was 84 and lived in Perryville.

Ms. Hasson was a member of the Cecil County Community College's board of directors.

Born in Perryville, she was an elementary school teacher before becoming principal of the North East Elementary School in the late 1950s. She was then principal of the Westover Elementary School in Silver Spring until her retirement in 1972.

Services were to be held at 2 p.m. tomorrow at Patterson Funeral Home in Perryville.

Ms. Hasson is survived by a brother, J. Willard Hasson of Perryville; a sister Kathryn Boulden of Perryville; two nieces; and two nephews.

Memorial contributions may be made to the Asbury United Methodist Church of Port Deposit, in care of the Patterson Funeral Home, P.O. Box 188, Perryville 21903.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.