Carroll County Basketball * Boys championships -- The...


March 24, 1994|By Mike Nortrup

Carroll County Basketball * Boys championships -- The Westminster Owls swept both ends the Carroll County Basketball League's postseason championship tournament last weekend.

The A Division squad, which won the regular-season title, clinched the championship with a 66-25 win over Taneytown. The B team, which saw St. John's take the regular-season championship, got revenge by topping St. John's, 59-48, in the tourney championship game.

The Owls A squad opened the tourney with a 32-point explosion in the first quarter of its game against Woodbine and rolled on to win, 79-42.

Taiwan Veney sparked the first-quarter Westminster spurt with 14 points and went on to lead the Owls with 19. Josh Hollman supported with 13. Aaron Dorsey's 16 paced Woodbine.

Winfield downed Taneytown, 62-56, despite a 29-point performance by Taneytown's Kevin DeCarlo. Kevin Damiano and Nathan Russell paced Winfield with 15 points apiece.

John's got past St. Joseph's, 42-39. Bryan Bollinger paced the winners with 18 points, and Tim Chairs had 17 for St. Joseph's.

St. John's pulled away in the second half to beat North Carroll, 52-43. John Ritcey paced St. John's with 14 points. Mike Landow and Sean Davis added 12 and 11, respectively, for St. John's. Jason Wingert had 12 for North Carroll.

Westminster shot to a 30-8 halftime lead and cruised to a 54-35 win over Winfield. Josh Hollman paced the winning Owls with 17 points, and Jermaine Thornton had 15. John Luster had six for Winfield; Kevin Damiano and Nathan Russell each added five.

Taneytown jumped to a 31-7 halftime lead and went on to beat Woodbine, 50-30. Kevin DeCarlo had 12 points for Taneytown and Vince Stonesifer added 10. Carl Craig and Tom Crown each scored eight for Woodbine.

Kevin DeCarlo paced all scorers with 24 points, and J.J. Montgomery supported with 14 to pace Taneytown's 70-54 victory over Gamber-Smallwood. Bryan Bollinger had 14 for Gamber; Aaron Krug and Clint Brownley each added 11.

Winfield pulled away in the fourth quarter to beat North Carroll, 47-31. Greg Will and Nathan Russell paced the winners with 13 and 12 points, respectively. North Carroll's Jason Wingert had eight.

Taneytown came from behind in the fourth quarter to edge Winfield, 57-55. Taneytown's Kevin DeCarlo led all scorers with 17 points. Nathan Russell scored 15 for Winfield.

Westminster topped St. John's, 51-25, as Taiwan Veney led the way with 18 points, and Jermaine Thornton supported with 15. Jeff Landow scored 10 for St. John's.

Taneytown qualified for the finals by beating St. John's, 53-40. The winners, trailing 27-23 at halftime, rallied to outscore St. John's, 30-14 after intermission.

Taneytown's Kevin DeCarlo scored a game-high 22 points, and Vince Stonesifer added 14. Mike Landow had 11 for St. John's; Pat Dain and Sean Davis each added eight.

Westminster's 66-25 championship game win, Desmond Esteves paced all scorers with 20 points, Jermaine Thornton chipped in with 17. Taneytown's Vince Stonesifer scored 10.

In a B Division preliminary game, St. John's beat Taneytown, 54-30. Jason Jarrett paced the winners' balanced attack with 10 points, John DeCesare added nine, and Robert Fisher, eight. Kody Jenkins had a game-high 12 points for Taneytown; Jason Little added eight.

St. Joseph's downed Woodbine, 47-27, as Jonathan Tissue led its attack with 12 points, and Michael Bowers added 11, all in the first half. Cody Haslup and Tavon Saunders paced Woodbine with 12 points apiece.

Derek Boswell scored 24 points to lead Winfield to a 60-47 victory over North Carroll. Dan Stansbury chipped in with 10 for the winners. Billy Hammond scored 12 for North Carroll; Matthew Capece and Charles Devilbiss each added 10.

Westminster beat Gamber-Smallwood, 48-12. Jon David Byers scored 13 points for the winners, and Nick Hohenwarter had 11. John Brownley scored four points for Gamber.

Woodbine scored a 48-42 overtime win over Taneytown. Woodbine's Tavon Saunders led all scorers with 20 points. Cody Haslup added 15, four of these coming in the overtime period when Woodbine outscored Taneytown, 8-2. Taneytown's Jason Little paced all scorers with 21 points, and Kody Jenkins supported with 16.

Derek Boswell scored 17 points to lead Winfield to a 39-22 win over Woodbine. Saunders scored 12 for Woodbine.

Westminster downed Winfield, 82-44, despite a 28-point performance from Derek Boswell. Jon David Byers paced the winners' attack with 18 points. Nick Hohenwarter and Quentin Woodyard each chipped in with 16.

St. Joseph's broke open a close game with a 12-3 third-quarter spurt and went on to beat Gamber-Smallwood, 37-28. Charles Loskarn paced St. Joseph's with 14 points, and Michael Bowers added 10. Doug Steigerwald scored 14 for Gamber.

Joseph's trailed Winfield, 18-17 at halftime. But it outscored the Warriors, 16-9 in a decisive third quarter, and went on to win, 39-35. Michael Bowers and Charles Loskarn paced the winners with 12 points apiece. Derek Boswell and Dan Stansbury each had eight for Winfield, and Anthony Jones, six.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.