4 running for 3 posts in Mount Airy

March 16, 1994|By Jackie Powder | Jackie Powder,Sun Staff Writer

Three Mount Airy residents will run for two vacant seats on the Town Council in the May 2 election, and current Mayor Gerald Johnson will run unopposed.

The four candidates for town offices were nominated by Mount Airy residents at a Monday night meeting of the Mount Airy Nominating Commission.

Wendy Wagner Peters nominated Mayor Johnson for re-election, saying he has demonstrated fiscal responsibility and devotion to Mount Airy.

"Mayor Johnson has generated enthusiasm for the downtown renovation, senior housing and has opened communication between Frederick and Carroll counties," Ms. Peters told the nominating commission.

Nominated as one of the three candidates for two open council seats was council President Delaine Hobbs, who has served for 28 years on the body.

Keith Gehle nominated Michael Boyer as a council candidate. Mr. Boyer owns Microstar Computers on Main Street.

The third council candidate, Robert Mead, was nominated by Ms. Peters. She said Mr. Mead, who served on the town's cable television commission, was instrumental in providing Mount Airy with a choice of cable companies.

Councilman Oliver Davis, who has served on the council since 1986, announced last week that he will not seek re-election.

Mr. Davis, who runs Oliver Davis Auto and Truck Repair, says serving on the council doesn't leave him enough time to run his business.

He said council members are overburdened with running town committees, including roads, water and sewer, and solid waste. Mr. Davis has said Mount Airy needs a town manager to oversee these areas.

"We get elected to make town laws and ordinances and we end up running the town," he said.

The Mount Airy town election will be held May 2 at the Firemen's Activity Building on Twin Arch Road. The polls will be open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.