Springbrook holds off Glen Burnie

March 11, 1994|By From Staff Reports

Shakil Brew scored a team-high 20 points to lead top-seeded Springbrook (22-2) to a 66-64 victory over fourth-seeded Glen Burnie (20-5) in a Class 4A state semifinal last night at Cole Field House.

Tyrian Ridges added 13 points, including 11 in the second half, as Springbrook held off a furious second-half comeback by Glen Burnie.

Shawn Mahaney scored 22 points for the Gophers and Rocky Newton added 17.

The Gophers had a chance to tie, but William Brown missed a shot in the paint in the final four seconds.

* DuVal 81, Thomas Johnson 67: Donnell Combs scored a game-high 21 points to lead fourth-seeded DuVal of Prince Georges' County (13-10) past top-seeded Thomas Johnson of Frederick County (22-1) in a Class 3A state semifinal.

Tony Hickman added 20 for the Tigers. Tom Praesel was Thomas Johnson's leading scorer with 13 and Steve McKenzie contributed 11.

Girls basketball

* Sherwood 62, Annapolis 55: Meredith Pine and Nikki Tibbs each scored 15 points lead top-seeded Sherwood (21-1) of Montgomery County over No. 8 and fourth-seeded Annapolis (19-7) in a Class 4A state semifinal.

Tibbs also grabbed 10 rebounds,and teammates Takesha Williams and Gloria Cruz contributed 12 and 11 points, respectively.

Cristi Samaras and Shannon Henderson led the Panthers with 19 each. Henderson also grabbed 17 rebounds and nine blocked shots.

* DuVal 54, Whitman 50: Tiffany Moss scored 18 points as third-seeded DuVal (18-3) upset second-seeded Walt Whitman (23-1), the top-ranked team in the Washington Post, in a Class 3A state semifinal.

Whitman trailed by only eight points with 1:02 remaining. But Molly Hughes hit back-to-back three pointers to pull Whitman within 52-50 with 29 seconds left.

Moss then converted both ends of a one-and-one with 22 seconds left to extend DuVal's lead to four.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.