AACC narrows field to 5 for college presidency

March 10, 1994

The field of applicants for the post of president of Anne Arundel Community College has shrunk to five, all presidents of other community colleges.

The Arnold school's search committee said Tuesday that it had narrowed the field from more than 80 applicants for the job being vacated by Thomas E. Florestano.

Each finalist will visit the campus for two days of interviews with trustees, vice presidents, student leaders, elected officials, business leaders and others during the end of March and first two weeks of April. Trustees will vote and announce their selection at their May 10 meeting.

The finalists are:

* Bruce H. Leslie, president of Onondaga Community College in Syracuse, N.Y., since 1984.

* Michael T. Murphy, president of St. Louis Community College at Florissant Valley, since 1987. Dr. Murphy is the only applicant with community ties. The Glen Burnie High School graduate is a former physical education instructor at Arundel High School.

* Antonio Perez, president of Gateway Community-Technical College in New Haven, Conn., since 1986.

* Martha A. Smith, president of Dundalk Community College in Dundalk, since 1988.

* Peter A. Spina, president and chief executive officer of Monroe Community College in Rochester, N.Y., since 1982.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.