Coppin has 3 on MEAC first team

March 08, 1994

Coppin State, which just completed its second straight undefeated season in the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, dominated the league's men's postseason awards. The Eagles placed three players on the all-conference first team, led by junior forward Stephen Stewart, the Player of the Year and the only unanimous choice on the All-MEAC team.

Stewart led the MEAC in scoring with an 18.0 average, was 10th in rebounding (5.6), fourth in three-point field-goal accuracy (44 percent) and fifth in free-throw shooting (77 percent).

Coppin guards Keith Carmichael (15.7 points, 3.8 three-point field goals per game) and Sidney Goodman (14.6 points, 4.1 assists, 2.3 steals) were the next-highest vote-getters, and they were joined on the first team by Morgan State forward Gerald Jordan, (13.7 points, league-leading 10.3 rebounds). Two UMES players made the second team: forward Zack Allison and guard Dale Harrison.

In addition, Coppin's Fang Mitchell was voted Coach of the Year for the fourth time in five seasons. The league's coaches gave him six of the nine possible first-place votes.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.