City wrestlers show improvement

March 07, 1994|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Staff Writer

Overall, the weekend's state wrestling tournaments didn't go badly for city teams.

In only their second endeavor into the state association's playoff system, there were three runners-up from the city, two third-place finishers, and two fourths. That's an improvement on last year, when it had a runner-up and three fourth-place finishers.

On the 1A-2A side, Dunbar's third-ranked Bruce Pendles (112, 28-2) was a runner-up to Northeast's No. 2-ranked Marty Kusick (29-1), falling short in a 7-6 decision after leading 2-0.

Pendles' teammate, sixth-ranked city and regional champ, Hermondoz Thompson (135, 26-2), dropped a 5-0 decision to Francis Scott Key's co-No. 2-ranked Randy Owings (30-1) -- but not before edging North Carroll's co-No. 2 Tom Kiler (34-2) in the semifinals.

Kusick and Owings won their second straight crowns over Pendles and Thompson, both juniors who placed fourth last year. Coach Damon Matthews, whose team was eighth last year, led Dunbar to 13th place -- once again higher than any other city team.

Walbrook's sixth-ranked, two-time city champ Jamil Stoakley (171, 27-4), a Maryland Scholastic Association runner-up, was the only city wrestler to reach a 3A-4A title bout. Stoakley, a senior regional champ, lost 10-7 to McDonough's (Charles County) Chris Brown (30-5).

Placing third in the 3A-4A were city champs, Dorian Paul (103, 27-7) of Southwestern and McAnthony Thompson (130, 23-3) of Mervo.

Paul, a sophomore who was fourth in the MSAs, beat West Region champ Avi Meier of Franklin, 5-1, in the quarterfinals, and handed Northern's sixth-ranked Eric Miller (35-2) his worst loss of the year, 12-3. Paul's only loss in five bouts came by 4-2 in the semifinal against Wheaton's fourth-ranked Scott Munsey (30-1), who edged Dulaney's Mike Kassolis, 4-3, for the title.

Thompson, a senior, pinned South Region runner-up Mike Simmons of Northern and won 10-6 over sixth-ranked South Region champ Todd Smith (31-3) of Bowie.

Old Mill's sixth-ranked Don Patterson (189) avenged an earlier loss to Poly's fourth-ranked city champ Rashad Kitchen to take third. Kitchen, a senior who was fourth for the second straight year, lost a 3-2 semifinal bout to Frederick's Mike McIlvaine (27-2), the eventual state champion.

Also placing fourth was Lake Clifton's city runner-up, Lloyd Cox (140), a regional champ whose 8-1 semifinal loss came against the eventual champ Todd Margolis (31-3) of McDonough (Charles County).

Cox, a junior who lost his fourth-place bout, 4-3, to Churchill's Dave Wertz, had among his victories a quarterfinal pin over Harford County champ Bryan Stewart, who entered their bout at 21-2.

Harford County had two runners-up: Edgewood freshman Thomas Free (103, 19-2), who lost 2-1 to Oakland Mill's No. 2-ranked Juri Freeman (33-1) after leading 1-0, and Aberdeen's sixth-ranked Chad Guerrera (152, 29-2), who lost 10-8 to Hammond's third-ranked Chris Williams (35-3).

Each is a county and regional champ, with Free getting a semifinal upset, 6-3 over Williamsport's fourth-ranked Billy Baker (25-2).

Arundel's eventual champ, Mark Chesla (152, 30-4), edged Woodlawn's fifth-ranked Mykol Thomas (31-2), 5-4, in the semifinals, but Thomas, a junior, rebounded for third place with a 5-4 victory over Frank Black-Glover (21-3) of Frederick Douglass (Prince George's County).

Overlea's fifth-ranked, two-time regional champ John Fields (145, 33-2) lost his semifinal bout 10-8 to Lackey's regional champ Ryan Hersey (33-2) -- the eventual runner-up -- before finishing third.

Southern-AA's county champ Trumaine Graves (189) won his semifinal bout, 5-2, over Hereford's top-ranked county and regional champ Roy Collins (37-1). But Collins rebounded to beat Graves, 5-3, for third place.

Collins' teammate, regional champ, Anthony Radecki (125), was fourth, as was Dundalk sophomore Dan Simancek (112, 27-5).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.