Old Mill, Northeast trailing

March 05, 1994|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Sun Staff Writer

Anne Arundel County continued its shaky quest to retain both state tournament wrestling titles last night at Western Maryland College.

Five-time defending 3A-4A champ Old Mill (33 points) trailed Northern of Calvert (39.5), despite having five semifinalists to Northern's four.

In Class 1A-2A, Northeast (32 points) -- also with five semifinalists -- trailed Damascus (37.5) of Montgomery County, which has four wrestlers in the semifinals, followed by North Carroll (22.5) with three semifinalists.

For Old Mill, Jason Bryant (112)Shawn Radford (119), Nick Basta (125), Mike DiLeonardi (145) and Don Patterson (189) are still in the title round, and Northeast had the defending state champion Kusick twins, Marty (112) and Mike (119), Matt Jewer (130), Steve Smiddy (140) and heavyweight Dan Defenbaugh.

Randallstown's top-ranked, defending state champ, Gary Harris (28-0) scored two pins, and Woodlawn's defending state champion heavyweight, Darrel Mance (28-0), scored a decision and a technical fall.

The biggest upset of the night came at 189, where Southern-AA's Trumaine Graves downed Hereford's top-ranked Roy Collins, 5-2.

Area wrestlers were involved in the following first round upsets of No. 1 seeds: On the 1A-2A side, Francis Scott Key's Jason Hooper (119) upset Hammond's fifth-ranked Josh Zillmer, 8-0; Towson's Mark Mavrophillipos beat Northeast's two-time regional champ, Jason Grunder, 9-7; and Towson's Josh Perloff (160) edged North Hagerstown's fifth-ranked Ali Robinson, 14-13.

On the 3A-4A side, Severna Park's George Mamalis (135) beat Eastern Tech's Joe Scruggs, 10-5, and Thomas Johnson's Adam Hoffman (189) downed Perry Hall's Jeff Taylor, 10-4.

Also, Central's Barry Moye (112) won by forfeit when Sparrow's Point's Gary Maynor was a no-show.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.