Panel of 12 to set boundaries for attendance

March 04, 1994|By Carol L. Bowers | Carol L. Bowers,Sun Staff Writer

Twelve people have agreed to take on the monumental task of redrawing school attendance boundaries throughout the county.

One person from each high school district is on the committee, which must decide where to seat the 69,000-and-growing student population.

Named to the committee were: Rhonda Pindell Charles, Don Everitt, Bob Wakefield, Bruce McGuiness, Christine Davenport, Jean Peterson, Bill Church, Dale Wills, Lisa Pitocco, Debbie Fitzgerald, Cathy Tornabene and Keith McAllister.

The suggestion to redistrict schools on a countywide basis emerged in January during an annual discussion about redistricting for fall 1994.

The school board instead directed Superintendent Carol S. Parham to look at the larger problem of where all students will be taught.

The last such committee was formed in 1987. Since then, the school board has tinkered with attendance zones on an annual or as-needed basis.

A task force appointed by the previous superintendent completed a study last year that examined how space in school buildings should be used. Nicknamed the "Ugly Alternatives Committee," the group made several recommendations, including the suggestion that the system look at year-round schools and two shifts for severely overcrowded schools.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.