At finale, Mt. St. Joe pins down its 19th championship in a row

February 20, 1994|By Jeff Seidel | Jeff Seidel,Special to The Sun

In the tournament that was the Maryland Scholastic Association's last, Mount St. Joseph finished first.


Top-ranked Mount St. Joseph clinched its 19th consecutive MSA championship long before the final round began, but the Gaels also got individual championships from Russell Fecteau, David Inkman, Paul Scott, Danny DeVivo and Kenny Hunter as they breezed to the title yesterday at Gilman.

The Gaels, who led by 84 points after Friday's action, sealed the title early in yesterday's consolation competition.

Mount St. Joseph finished with 263 points, McDonogh took second with 157 and No. 11 Gilman finished third with 141. No. 13 Mervo won the award for the highest B or C Conference team, taking seventh.

The Gaels shared the 1980 championship with St. Paul's but held the remainder alone.

Coach Paul Triplett, who was a member of St. Joe's title teams from 1977 through 1979, said winning the championship actually could be a relief to his team.

"They won't admit it, but in the back of their minds, it's a big load off their minds," said Triplett, who won two MSA titles.

Jake Lissau (112 pounds) wrestled first for St. Joe, but dropped a 4-3 decision to Brian Kapp (20-4) of Calvert Hall. Two matches later, fourth-ranked Fecteau (125, 28-5) gave the Gaels their first title by pinning Michael Harrison of Boys' Latin at 5:11.

Top-ranked Inkman (130, 28-3) outlasted third-ranked Jason Gibson of Loyola, 8-6, for his first MSA title. Next, top-ranked Scott (140, 24-3) had a victory by default over Maurice Simmons of Edmondson who aggravated a rib injury.

Top-ranked DeVivo (160, 25-3) defended his crown with a tough 3-0 decision over fourth-ranked Martius Harding of McDonogh in a rematch of last year's title bout. DeVivo also won that by decision.

The Mount St. Joe wrestler clinched the match with a takedown with 26 seconds remaining.

Fourth-ranked heavyweight Hunter (24-5) capped the tournament by beating fifth-ranked city champion Shawn Brodie of Mervo, 3-0.

Top-ranked Steve Truitt (135, 24-0) of St. Paul's took home his second straight title, but it wasn't easy as he needed a takedown with 23 seconds left to top city champion Hermondoz Thompson of Dunbar, 3-1. Top-ranked Gino Amasia (103, 19-0) of Calvert Hall also won a second consecutive title with a 9-0 victory over Maakan Taghizadeh of Gilman.

Other winners were: sixth-ranked, two-time city champion Bruce Pendles (119, 19-1) of Dunbar, who was voted the tournament's most valuable wrestler; Ethan Goldberg of Friends (145, 24-5); Erik Fitez (152, 26-3) from Boys' Latin; Pete Karvounis (171, 22-3) of St. Paul's; and McDonogh's top-ranked J. R. Plienis (189, 22-2).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.