Sun wins 11 1st-place awards in contest

February 16, 1994|By From Staff Reports

Baltimore Sun staff members won first-place prizes in 11 of the 26 categories in the 1993 Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association competition for major daily newspapers, including citations for public service and general news reporting.

The Sun and Evening Sun won 25 prizes in the competition for reporting, editorials, commentary, photography, art and graphic design among daily newspapers with a daily circulation of 75,000 or more.

The Washington Post won 21 prizes, including eight first-place honors; The Washington Times received 16 awards, five of them for first place; and the Wilmington News Journal received eight awards, one of them a first-place honor.

Winners of first-place awards for The Sun included Michael A. Fletcher, in the series category for his articles last May on the Flag House Courts public housing project, "No Way to Live;" and Marina Sarris, in public service for her Nov. 14 articles on the Maryland Parole Commission.

Staff writers Sandy Banisky and John W. Frece won an honorable mention in public service for a Feb. 19, 1993, article examining how allegations of sexist epithets cost John S. Arnick a judgeship.

The Sun swept the three awards in the category of general news. Bruce Reid was the first-place winner for coverage of a jail death in Harford County, JoAnna Daemmrich won second prize for an article on the cheating scandal at the U.S. Naval Academy and Timothy B. Wheeler won honorable mention for an article on scientific studies of the blue crab.

John Eisenberg won the first prize for sports columns, Angela Winter Ney for religion article, and news artists Jef Dauber for info/graphics and John Camejo for art/illustration.

The Sun also won four first-place awards for photography: George W. Holsey for spot news, Robert K. Hamilton for feature photo, Bo Rader for best picture series and Gene Sweeney Jr. for best sports photo.

Other second-place winners were Wiley A. Hall for local column, Thomas W. Waldron for medical/science article, Jed Kirschbaum for spot news photo, Mark Bugnaski for feature photo, and news artists Kathy Cordes, Mr. Dauber and Charles Hazard along with Ron Coddington of Knight-Ridder Tribune for info/graphics.

Honorable mentions were awarded to Michael Ollove in the feature story category, Ms. Daemmrich and Kim Clark for local government reporting, Mr. Bugnaski for picture series, Garo Lachinian for sports photo, Mike Lane of The Evening Sun for editorial cartoon and Chris Zang for headlines.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.