Bel Air is biggest winner in tri-meet

January 30, 1994|By John W. Stewart | John W. Stewart,Staff Writer

Thursday's lone swimming meet in the Harford County League was seen as a successful experience by the head coaches of the three competing teams.

Unbeaten Bel Air totaled 238 points to defeat C. Milton Wright (211) and Havre de Grace (156). Of the other two scheduled meets, one was postponed because of the icy road conditions (Edgewood, Joppatowne, North Harford, and Harford Tech at North Harford Middle School) and the other (Aberdeen, Fallston, John Carroll) because of a plumbing problem at Magnolia Middle School.

Normally, postponed meets are made up the next Monday, but '' the meets canceled on Jan. 20 are scheduled to be made up tomorrow. No decision has been made on when Thursday's meets will be made up.

The standings: Bel Air 11-0; Fallston 7-2; C.M. Wright 8-3; Aberdeen 7-3; John Carroll 6-4; Havre de Grace 6-5; Edgewood 3-6; North Harford 2-8; Joppatowne 1-8; Harford Tech 0-12.

For Bel Air on Thursday, with its 40 swimmers providing quality as well as quantity, coach Jeff DeMott used the occasion to move around some of his people, and it proved what others had known -- the team has excellent depth.

"In particular, we had three swimmers take advantage of the opportunity to produce good swims," DeMott said. "Sophomore Jenn Meyer won the 200 freestyle and was second in the 500 freestyle; sophomore Kate Eyler won the 500 freestyle; and junior Betsy Steinen was second in the 100 breaststroke and third in the 200 freestyle."

Bel Air girls won six of 11 events, and the boys took eight of 11. The boys had three double-winners, with senior Erik Jankowiak (50 freestyle, 100 freestyle), junior Jeff DeHart (100 butterfly, 100 back) and sophomore Dan Machovec with an especially tough assignment (200 individual medley, 500 freestyle).

Wright's winners were its girls 200 freestyle relay, boys 400 freestyle relay, Laura Hershner (100 butterfly) and Jenn Plaine (100 breaststroke).

"We got some good matchups that kept it competitive, and when you swim against Bel Air, it gives everybody faster times," said Wright coach Annie Lee. She was particularly pleased with her 100 breaststrokers, Plaine, plus boys 2-3 finishers Jason Melani and Kevin Slezak.

Faster times were the order of the meet for Havre de Grace, where five school records were set. Senior Georgia Davies (50 freestyle, 100 freestyle) collected two and was joined by her brother, freshman Tom Davies (500 freestyle), Jody Hochstein (100 backstroke) and the boys 200 freestyle relay.

Coach Aaron Thompson moved around some of his swimmers, including freshmen Christine Pelletier, Heather Hooker and Danny Gilbert.

"With a young team [18 freshmen], moving them around increases our flexibility and should make us stronger in the future," Thompson said.

This marked the first time this season for Georgia Davies in the sprints -- she normally handles longer distances (200 individual medley, 200 freestyle, 500 freestyle) -- but Thompson wanted to give her a chance at the records.

Hochstein, a sophomore, has focused for a season and a half on the school's 1:09.5 backstroke record by Larry Walters in 1981, and he finally got it with a 1:09.35 in getting second to DeHart.

For the others, Tom Davies was second in the 500 freestyle (5:45.18) and the relay team was third in 2:02.62. Davies' times in the 500 have come down steadily in his four meets from a season-opening 5:58.

Such have been the results generated by third-year coach Thompson that no girls records before 1992 remain on the books, and the four boys marks from 1981 are in jeopardy.

Aside from the Davies' three, the Warriors' other first was by Sean McCone (100 breaststroke). There was one other first, but it came in diving, which has been an exhibition event in what is likely its final season on the program. Senior Lindsay Schellenberger, a four-year competitor, won with a total of 72.65.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.