Block awards set for March 8

January 20, 1994|By From Staff Reports

Heisman Trophy winners and Pro Football Hall of Famers Earl Campbell, Paul Hornung, O. J. Simpson, Roger Staubach and Doak Walker will be among the guests of honor at the 16th annual Ed Block Courage Awards on March 8 at 6 p.m. at Martin's West.

The award honors one player from each of the 28 NFL teams. The award personifies courage through the eyes of teammates and reflects the Ed Block model of strength, leadership and the pursuit of excellence.

Head trainer of the Baltimore Colts for 23 years, Ed Block served in the tank division of the U.S. Army and worked with children needing therapy at Kernan and Johns Hopkins hospitals.

Since 1978, more than $2 million has been raised to provide programs and services to abused children locally and nationally.

Here is the list of recipients:

Bruce Armstrong, New England Patriots; Bill Bates, Dallas Cowboys; John Davis, Buffalo Bills; Curtis Duncan, Houston Oilers; Steve Emtman, Indianapolis Colts; Simon Fletcher, Denver Broncos; Jumpy Geathers, Atlanta Falcons; Kevin Glover, Detroit Lions; Don Griffin, San Francisco 49ers; Johnny Holland, Green Bay Packers; Gary Jones, Pittsburgh Steelers; Bruce Kozerski, Cincinnati Bengals; David Lang, Los Angeles Rams; Albert Lewis, Kansas City Chiefs; Art Monk, Washington Redskins; Ron Moore, Phoenix Cardinals; Winston Moss, Los Angeles Raiders; John Offerdahl, Miami Dolphins; Eugene Robinson, Seattle Seahawks; Patrick Rowe, Cleveland Browns; Rob Taylor, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; Henry Thomas, Minnesota Vikings; George Thornton, New York Giants; Keith Van Horne, Chicago Bears; Derrick Walker, San Diego Chargers; Frank Warren, New Orleans Saints; Andre Waters, Philadelphia Eagles; Lonnie Young, New York Jets.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.