Appeals board's newest member elected chairman

January 11, 1994|By Staff Report

George L. Layman, the newest member of the Board of Appeals, will take his seat as chairman tonight.

Mr. Layman was appointed in July 1992 to complete the five-year term of former County Council member James H. Clark and reappointed to his own five-year term Jan. 3. He works during the day as executive director of the Montgomery County Chapter of Mothers Against Drunk Driving.

He replaces Evelyn Tanner, who served two of her five years on the board as chairwoman. She said it is the board's custom to rotate the chairmanship, and Mr. Layman was the only member who sought the position. The board elected Mr. Layman Thursday.

The Ellicott City Democrat is a candidate for the newly mapped Ellicott City-Elkridge County Council district seat.

Unlike members of other county boards, who are appointed by the county executive and confirmed by the council, appeals board members are both appointed and confirmed by the council. The appeals board meets to hear testimony and make decisions on special exceptions, variances and appeals of Planning Board and Department of Planning and Zoning decisions.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.