Four join Sykesville Planning Commission

January 04, 1994|By Mary Gail Hare | Mary Gail Hare,Staff Writer

Four new members joined the Sykesville Planning Commission last night, and the seven-member panel spent the session acquainting itself with new developments and setting future projects.

"We have so much to tell you all and so much to do that we will have to work on a month-to-month basis," said Town Manager James L. Schumacher. "For one thing, the town master plan must be completely redone in the next 24 months with the county planner."

He invited commissioners to join him in a Jan. 26 meeting with the State Highway Administration in Frederick to discuss improvements to Route 32. "All of you have traveled Route 32 during rush hour and have seen the need for turn lanes," he said. "The state has approved that project and will most likely fund it this year."

Bob Bond, the town engineer, has prepared detailed plans and cost estimates for about $1.5 million in improvements.

The commission also reviewed the developer's plan for four new phases of Hawk Ridge Farms. Powers Builders plans construction of about 100 more homes on the site along Obrecht Road.

"This is just an update," said Commission Chairman Jonathan Herman. "We won't review the formal plan until February."

Mr. Schumacher said he will forward several recommendations to the developer before the final review. They include:

* An open-space analysis to ensure that the town's requirements are met.

* Restoration of private tree-protection requirements.

* Meeting with the town engineer to discuss continuing drainage problems.

* Profiles of both existing and proposed land banks.

* Widening and complete resurfacing of Third Avenue.

* Location of Copper Ridge, a facility under construction at Fairhaven Retirement Center, on the plans.

The new commissioners are Carolynne Adams, Katherine Anderson, Leo Fiander and Joel Sokol.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.