CBYRA hands out its year-end awards


December 19, 1993|By NANCY NOYES

High Point results for the 1993 sailing season in the Cruising One Design and Handicap Divisions and some overall high honors recently were announced at CBYRA's annual general meeting in Hampton, Va.

Winning the prestigious Labrot Trophy for best overall in the Handicap Division for the second year in a row was Hampton Yacht Club's William "Sledd" Shelhorse, who sailed Promises to win the IMS South division, and also earned the Lloyd Phoenix Trophy for U.S. SAILING's National Offshore Championship sailed in Annapolis last month.

Similar honors in the Cruising One-Design Division went to the Lewis/Salvesen team, which picked up the J. F. Healy Memorial Trophy for best in that division with its win in the J/29 class. This team also previously won the award in 1991.

A President's Award went to past CBYRA president Tom Curtis, in recognition of his many efforts on behalf of the organization, and in particular of his work on the Education Committee and in revamping Annapolis Race Week.

In addition, C. Gaither Scott and Arnie Gay were recognized for their years of contributions to sail racing.

High Point standings are based on a mathematical formula determined by the number of points earned for starting and finishing a race and the number of boats beaten plus bonus points for distance races, divided by the maximum number of points it would have been possible to earn had all races entered been won.

High Point standings for the One-Design Division, as well as overall Annapolis Race Week awards and awards such as Race Committee of the Year, will be announced at a later date.

CBYRA High Point results Cruising One-design DIvision

Alberg 30 (16 events, 6.1 average starters, 10 qualifiers): 1. Sundance, Nye/Evans, Annapolis/Trappe, 0.6917; 2. Incredible, Karl Gerhard, Crofton, 0.5179; 3. Limerick, Tom Gorman, Annapolis, 0.4958.

Cal 25 (19 events, 6.5 average starters, nine qualifiers): 1. Riders Up, Dave Wooldridge, Annapolis, 0.6977; 2. Chicken Little, Charlie Husar, Annapolis, 0.6667; 3. Jumpin' Jack Flash, J & J Niemczuk, Glen Burnie, 0.5138.

Catalina 27 (18 events, 10.4 average starters, 12 qualifiers): 1. Swell, Derick Lynch, Arnold, 0.7700; 2. Cheshire Cat, F.D. Wright, Annapolis, 0.7684; 3. Merlin, Mark Oursler, Severna Park, 0.6400.

J/24 (31 events, 13.1 average starters, 21 qualifiers): 1. Dream Girl, Russ Potee, Arnold, 0.8144; 2. Bangor Packet, Tony Parker, Washington, 0.7459; 3. AJ, D & B Scheidt, Edgewater, 0.7405; 4. Show Dog, B & C Capuco, Annapolis, 0.7083; 5. Spot, S & M Podlich, Annapolis, 0.7059.

J/29 (11 events, 8.7 average starters, eight qualifiers): 1. Mirage, Lewis/Salvesen, Annapolis/Columbia/Edgewater, 0.6944; 2. Tops Optional, Steve Olinger, Annapolis, 0.5704; 3. The Simpsons, Lipshinn Synd., Baltimore, 0.5122.

J/30 (22 events, 17.5 average starters, 32 qualifiers): 1. BeBop, Rutsch/Aras, Chevy Chase/Annapolis, 0.8101; 2. No Magic, Scott/Smith, Annapolis/Cambridge, 0.8097; 3. Avita, Nassetta/Watson, Vienna, Va., 0.7290; 4. Jackrabbit, CEJ Synd., Annapolis, 0.7056; 5. Cannonball, Bill Wallop, Annapolis, 0.6804; 6. Blue Moon, Jim Ellis, Arnold, 0.6497.

J/35 (seven events, eight average starters, six qualifiers): 1. Cheers, Tim Bowen, Bowie, 0.6019; 2. Hot Toddy, Jeff Todd, Annapolis, 0.5733; 3. Aunt Jean, F.N. Sagerholm, Ocean City, N.J., 0.4400.

Pearson 30 (13 events, 6.2 average starters, seven qualifiers): 1. Vahevala, Dave Sharp, Edgewater, 0.6333; 2. Constellation, Henry Starr, Silver Spring, 0.5349; 3. Results, Art Libby, Annapolis, 0.4756.

Triton (15 events, 6.4 average starters, seven qualifiers): 1. Sandpiper, Chris Gordon, Chevy Chase, 0.6727; 2. Overdraft, Dave Hoyt, Glen Burnie, 0.6075; 3. Pylasteki, Leb Brown, Silver Spring, 0.5676.

Handicap Division

MORC North (25 events, 13.5 average starters, 17 qualifiers): 1. Rude Awakening, Charles O'Malley, Annapolis, 0.7940; 2. Stingray, Robert Muller, Annapolis, 0.7936; 3. Mirage, Lewis/Salvesen, Annapolis/Columbia/Edgewater, 0.7810; 4. A Train, Robert Reeves, Annapolis, 0.7228.

PHRF A Region II (19 events, 11.4 average starters, 14 qualifiers): 1. Switched at Birth, John White, Severna Park, 0.7992; 2. Dragon Fly, Jeffrey Klein, Baltimore, 0.7987; 3. Killer Puppy, Charles Powell, Towson, 0.7983.

PHRF B Region II (19 events, 6.1 average starters, seven qualifiers): 1. Airwaves, David Wiemer, Baltimore, 0.7268; 2. Intuition, Howard Stroterhoff, Baltimore, 0.7253; 3. Witch's Flower, John Sherwood, Annapolis, 0.6620.

PHRF C Region II (19 events, 8.7 average starters, 14 qualifiers): 1. Cold Duck, Wright/Schoolden, Baltimore, 0.7122; 2. Rebecca, William Paul, Pasadena, 0.6866; 3. Sure Cure, Craig Decker, Pasadena, 0.6316.

PHRF A-1 Region III (37 events, 11.2 average starters, 33 qualifiers): 1. Patriot, Davis/Seidel, Bel Air, 0.7734; 2. Sundog, Paul Parks, Shady Side, 0.7639; 3. True North, Mark Fischer, Ruxton, 0.7473; 4. Ramrod, Bert Jabin, Annapolis, 0.7301; 5. First Light, George Wilson, Easton, 0.7128; 6. Quintessence, Ben Michaelson, Annapolis, 0.7110.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.