Soccer* Under-14 girls -- Charles Carroll topped...


November 30, 1993|By Mike Nortrup


* Under-14 girls -- Charles Carroll topped Linganore, 3-1, to take the Under-14 B postseason crown.

The title was Charles Carroll's first since it entered the league four years ago.

Michelle Beal assisted on an Amanda Cross goal, which left Charles Carroll and Linganore tied 1-1 at halftime. After intermission, Amber Thompson's score broke the tie. Holly Mack later provided an insurance goal, on an assist from Tracy Borneman.

Center halfback Christy Duvall did an excellent job controlling the ball at midfield for Charles Carroll. Sweeper Amy Steakin turned in an outstanding defensive game for the winners.

The Charles Carroll squad, which was coached by Ann Spencer, had placed second in the division in the regular season.

* Under-17 boys -- Deer Park Green, which won the under-17 division's regular-season title, was equally successful in the BTC postseason.

In an all-Deer Park championship battle Green, coached by Bob Winters, shut out Deer Park Gold, 2-0. Jessie Oakes' goal opened the scoring.

Jody Connolly scored Green's second goal when he kicked in a corner kick from Jim Silfee.

* Under-14 boys -- Freedom United, unbeaten at 8-0-2 in winning the under-14 B Division's regular-season title, continued its championship play during the postseason.

It ended the year with a 2-0 shutout of the Freedom Football Club.

Matt Lane and Andrew Duncan scored first-half goals for the Mike Parker-coached Freedom United team.

The winners played airtight defense in the second half, spurred by goalkeeper Josh Phelps, who stopped 11 shots, including a penalty kick, in the game.

* Under-12 boys -- The Freedom Blazers placed first in the league's Under-12 A Division during the regular season with an 8-1-1 record.

Their only loss and tie came in two games with Pikesville. But the Blazers avenged those only blemishes on their boys league season, by shutting out that Baltimore County-based squad, 2-0, in the postseason tournament's championship game.

Fullbacks Kevin Taylor and D. J. Pohlit, along with goalkeeper Kevin Schreiner, keyed a tough Freedom defense that held Pikesville scoreless.

They were particularly effective in the first half, when Pikesville had the wind advantage.

Owen Hubbs and Chris Lurz scored after intermission to give the edge to the Bernie Schreiner-coached Blazers.

* Under-10 boys -- The South Carroll Greyhounds won the league's under-10 A Division with a 6-1-2 regular-season mark.

They also made their mark in the postseason, taking that tournament championship with a 2-0 shutout of Pikesville.

Andy Slater and Ryan Cummings scored for the Steve Centenio-coached South Carroll squad. Halfbacks Dave Centenio and Brad Hartzel did an excellent job of keeping the ball in the Pikesville end of the field.

They, along with goalkeeper Matt Fogle, were outstanding in the second half when Pikesville, with the wind advantage, was on the attack much of the time.

The under-10 B Division Francis Scott Key Junior Eagles twice came up short.

They finished second to Pikesville in the regular season. The Eagles were also runners-up to that Baltimore County squad in the postseason tournament.

After leading much of the game, the Eagles fell to Pikesville, 4-3, in the championship game.

Key, on goals by Brad Stonesifer and Ken Smith, led 2-1 at halftime. Smith scored again after intermission, to put the locals ahead, 3-2. But Pikesville tied it, and then scored the game-winner with about two minutes to play.

* Under-14 boys -- The ASI Freedom Strikers dropped a 4-3 shootout decision to Cockeysville in the Reister's Cup Thanksgiving Tournament semifinals on Sunday.

The Strikers, though, took third in the 10-team field, when they beat the Glenelg Top Guns, 3-1, in the consolation game.

Ryan Renehan, Tim Chairs and Rob Lee scored for Freedom against Glenelg. Dave Fetterhoff had two assists for the locals, who never trailed in the consolation game.

The Strikers, with Chris Poklemba and Kevin Roy scoring and Poklemba adding an assist, were tied 2-2 with Cockeysville at the end of regulation time in the semifinal. Ben Scher headed in Chairs' pass to put Freedom ahead 3-2 in the opening minutes of the overtime period.

But Cockeysville tied it with only 10 seconds remaining and then won the shootout, 3-2.

* Men's league -- The Westminster Wolves won their opening playoff game in the Mason-Dixon League playoffs, beating Walkersville, 2-1, in overtime.

The Wolves trailed until four minutes remained in regulation time. Then, Nick Dawson kicked in a cross from Ed DeVincent to tie the game 1-1.

Scott Myers scored the deciding goal, about five minutes into overtime.

First-place Mercersburg shot to a 4-0 lead and went on to eliminate the North Carroll Arrows, 5-2, in their playoff.

The Arrows' Jeff Cook and Kreg Keeney scored in the second half.

* Under-14 girls -- The Freedom Dynamo split its first two games of the season in the Super Sports Indoor Arena's 14-under girls division.

In the opener, Brianna Schaefer's late goal broke a 3-3 tie, and led the Dynamo to a 4-3 win over Glenelg.

Allison Rabonovitz, Jessica Shadoff and Jen Janowich also scored for the winners, who trailed 3-2 until scoring twice in the second half.

Goalkeeper Krista O'Brien and fullback Mandy South played outstanding defense for Freedom.

The Dynamo, however, lost, 6-3, to Columbia in its second game. Janowich scored twice and Sandy Lagana scored once for Freedom, which trailed 5-1 at halftime.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.