Mountain Valley FootballIt was Mountain against Valley in...


November 25, 1993|By Mike Nortrup

Mountain Valley Football

It was Mountain against Valley in last weekend's three-part MVL All-Star game.

The Mountain Division team, featuring players from the Francis Scott Key and Mount Airy squads, won the varsity contest, 12-6, and the junior varsity game, 30-6.

The Valley, which had players from the Gamber-Smallwood team, won the pony contest, 25-13.

Nine Gamber-Smallwood players were chosen for the Valley all-star teams.

Starrett Esworthy, Todd Edmondson and Ryan Baer played for the pony team, and Ryan Fisher, Mike Landow and Glenn Seitz for the JV. Jeremy Simons, Randy Stull and Mike Weyant made the varsity squad.

The Francis Scott Key JV, which had eight players selected by virtue of the team's second-place regular-season finish, sent Chris Lagunas, Matt Grandinetti, Kory Jenkins, Shawn Smith, Andy Hurd, Jeff Eyler, Rocky Moore and Andy Jenkins to the game.

Jenkins booted a two-point conversion kick after one of his team's touchdowns.

The Key varsity sent Josh Hollman, Larry Nail and Jason Zinkand while its pony squad sent Brian Moore, Kody Jenkins and Jason Strine.

The Mount Airy Bulldogs, which won the Mountain Division, had nine players on the varsity All-Stars.

These included running back Mike Cleveland, who led the Mountain All-Stars in rushing for the game, and chipped in a 45-yard run that set up his team's first touchdown.

Other Bulldogs on the varsity stars were Tom Crown, Matt MacKenzie, Nick Herbert, Tony Freeman, Clyde Gibson, Jed Smith, Matt Thompson and Mike Borkovitch.


Under-14 girls -- The Freedom Thunder, which tied Sacred Heart for the Carroll County regular-season championship, left no doubt which was the better team when the two met in the postseason tournament title game.

Freedom topped the Owings Mills-based squad, 4-1.

Jodi Baier scored twice for Freedom, which had pulled ahead 3-0 before Sacred Heart could score.

Kate Hannon and Stephanie Wilson had Freedom's other goals and Ashley Fortenberry had two assists.

Under-14 boys -- The Freedom Strikers won the Carroll County League's regular-season title this year, and Saturday, it took the postseason championship.

But Pikesville gave Freedom a scare before falling, 4-3.

Pikesville scored three goals to take a 3-1 halftime lead after Tim Chairs put Freedom ahead 1-0 early in the game.

The Strikers, though, tied it in the opening minutes of the second half.

Ryan Renahan scored off a Chairs corner kick and Chris Poklemba tied the contest, 3-3, with a direct kick.

With five minutes left in the game, Chairs, who led the Strikers in goals this year, scored the game-winner on a breakaway, after taking a pass from Brian Levin.

5th and 6th grade boys -- Marty's Oriole Mart nipped Hubbard's Mobil Power Wash, 1-0, in the Freedom Optimist Youth Soccer league postseason tournament championship game. John Mulieri had the game's only goal.

7th and 10th grade boys -- E.W. Beck topped Reisterstown Federal, 4-2, in the divisional postseason tourney title game.

Doug Richmond scored twice for the winners, while Jacob Abrams and Brian Burnette each scored once and Burnette also had an assist.

Beck blanked Eldersburg Inn, 4-0, in an earlier playoff game. Abrams and Burnette each scored twice in that win.

Men's league -- The North Carroll Arrows dropped a 3-2 decision to Clear Spring in their final regular-season game in the Mason-Dixon soccer league.

Kreg Keeney, assisted by Anderson Mensah, scored the first North Carroll goal. Tim Warehime scored the second, with an assist from Mark Ludwig.

Clear Spring broke a 2-2 tie when it scored on a direct kick with less than two minutes remaining in the game.

The Arrows, though, still made the postseason playoffs. They play first-place host Mercersburg (Pa.) on Sunday.


A number of local competitors played last weekend at the Leisure Racquetball Club's Fall Classic Racquetball and Wallyball Tournament.

On the walleyball side, Matt Bowers and Alma Pait prevailed in a field of 10, to win the Co-ed Doubles Division. They beat Bruce Bram and Linda Winnard, 11-2, 11-0, in the finals.

Pait teamed with Jeff Minskey and Wayne Shambaugh to take the Co-ed Triples Open Division. They beat runners-ups Dale and Sonja Davidson and Jim Brown, 15-6, 15-11, in the championship.

Rose Rise, Vicky Leppo and Lisa Little ganged up on Susie Gouchenour, Sharon Brough and Denise Parrish to win the Women's Triples Open Division title, 15-9, 9-15, 15-4.

Jeff Minskey, Bill Berrier and Wayne Shambaugh won a tough finals match, 15-12, 7-15, 15-5, over Matt Bowers, Mark Fine and John Keck to take the Men's Triples Open Division title.

On the racquetball side, Steve Myers beat Joe Cornell, 15-8, 11-15, 11-9, in an A Division championship match.

The B Division saw Steve Messiora prevail over 12 other entrants. He beat runner-up Mike Cutright, 15-13, 15-12, in the championship.

Matt Chronister defeated Bill Nichols, 15-13, 15-10, in the C Division final.

Paul Schoen went 3-0 in matches to take the Novice Division title. Brandon Lerner was second at 2-1.

Steve Myers and Mike Altice teamed up to beat Curly Karmelin and Steve Messiora, 11-10, in a one-game playoff, to take the A/B Doubles Division crown.

In the B/C Doubles Division, Paul Mason and Brian Sullivan were the victors in a six-team field. They topped Steve Reynolds and Frank Fiore, 15-9, 15-6, in the championship.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.