Boy Scout Troop 755 recognizes members for their achievements


November 23, 1993|By VICKI WELLFORD

Boy Scout Troop 755 recently held its Third Quarter Court of Honor, with Senior Patrol Leader Michael Branco playing host for the evening.

Participation beads for summer camp and the Seafood Festival were awarded to: Andy Bowser, Joe Branco, Mike Branco, Joe Felsentreger, Chris Henry, Ken Henry, Ron Jantz, Andy Maxwell, Kurt Meinhardt, Chris Owens, Joe Satterfield and Dave Wilson.

Merit Badges were awarded to: Bowser and Ken Henry (personal fitness); Mike Branco, Meinhardt and Maxwell (first aid); Ken Henry, Chris Henry, John Satterfield and Bowser (emergency preparedness); Joe Branco and Meinhardt (environmental sciences); Owens (nature); Chris Henry and Mike Branco (archery); Joe Branco and John Satterfield (insect); Felsentreger (basketry and artist); John Satterfield (orienteering); Bowser and Maxwell (communication and wilderness survival); Meinhardt (wilderness survival); and Denis Maxwell (public speaking and communication).

Several Scouts are pursuing awards in the Varsity Scout Venture program. Cycling pins will be awarded to Chris Henry, Michael Meinhardt, Andy Bowser and John Satterfield.

Assistant Scoutmaster Pat Branco awarded the rank of Scout to Ron Jantz.

A Second Class patch was awarded to Kurt Meinhardt, and Chris Henry received the Life patch. John Satterfield was given a recruiter patch for bringing new Scouts into the troop.

* This year's fall fund-raiser will be a spaghetti cook-off on Dec. 4, committee chairman Cliff Wellington said. The family of each Scout will stir up a batch of its favorite spaghetti sauce, which will be sampled and voted on by the participants.

The cook-off will run from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the Gambrills Church of God on Route 175, next to Scout Hall. In addition to spaghetti with sauces to sample, garlic bread and beverages will be served.

Admission is $3 per person, $5 for two people and $10 for families. Tickets can be purchased from any Scout or by calling Becky Henry, 761-4165 or Wellington, 674-4726.

Anyone interested in joining Troop 755 can call Scoutmaster Gary Satterfield 721-4580 for more information.

Troop 755 meets at 7 p.m. Thursdays at the Scout Hall on Route 175 in Gambrills.


Meade Drama held its first induction into the International Thespian Society on Oct. 22.

Bruce McDade and members of Arundel Troupe 3271 of the society were on hand to explain the purposes of the society and administer the pledge. Troupe members also entertained with two production numbers from "Aladdin" and "Newsies."

Barbara Zucco and George Pelham, co-directors of Meade Drama, then introduced the inductees to Thespian Troupe 2286: Douglas Baker, Brian Boynton, Thomas Bresnahan, Amanda Cregan, Daniel Dorman (one star member), Day Dove, Richard Hegmann (one star member), Alfred Jump, Ian Kendell (one star member), Danielle Lenhard, Karyn Lonaberger, Christine Metzgar, Cynthia Metzgar, Erin Michaels (three star member) and Eva Peterson.

They are joined by Jason Schneiderman, who transferred his membership from another club.

The induction ceremonies were followed by a supper reception for the inductees and their guests.


Nichols-Bethel United Methodist Church and First Evangelical Lutheran Church will hold a blood drive from 8 a.m. to noon, Dec. 11 at Nichols-Bethel in Odenton.

A sign-up sheet is posted in the church, or call 674-7308 for an appointment or information.

The Red Cross has a very critical need for blood and the need always increases during the holidays. The goal is 40 pints.


The West Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce is throwing a "Wake Up West County: Business Before Hours" networking breakfast at 7:30 a.m. Tuesday at Coyote Cafe, 696 Route 3, Gambrills.

A table will be provided to display literature. Be prepared to tell other members about your services or products and what leads you're seeking.

North Arundel Hospital Services Inc. and the Capital-Gazette Newspapers will give five-minute presentations.

The cost is $12.50 for chamber members with advance reservations, $15 at the door and $25 for nonchamber members.

Call the chamber office, 672-3422, to make your reservation.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.