Six-day hunt opens Jan. 3 in Cecil County for winners of state deer lottery

November 14, 1993|By Mike Farabaugh | Mike Farabaugh,Staff Writer

A six-day managed deer hunt will begin Jan. 3 at the Natural Resources Management Area at Fair Hill in Cecil County, said Torrey C. Brown, secretary for the state Department of Natural Resources.

It is the first time hunters have been permitted to help control the deer population at Fair Hill in Elkton.

The shotgun-only hunt, which was announced last week, will be open to state hunting-license holders who submit applications for a lottery drawing.

The drawing, set for Nov. 29, will select 65 winners for each day of the hunt. Winners will be notified by mail.

Area maps and applications are available at state DNR service centers in Bel Air, Annapolis, Centerville, Cumberland, Prince Frederick and Salisbury.

The regional service center in Harford County is at 2 S. Bond St., Bel Air, 21014.

Hunters also may obtain applications at the Fair Hill site, 376 Fair Hill Road, Elkton 21921; Millington Wildlife Management Area, Route 1, Box 552, Massey 21650; Gunpowder Falls State Park, 10815 Harford Road, Glenarm 21057; Elk Neck State Park, 4935 Turkey Point Road, North East 21901; and Rocks State Park, 3318 Chrome Hill Road, Jarrettsville 21084.

Checks or money orders for $5 per hunter must be made payable to DNR-Fair Hill.

Applications will be mailed only to prospective hunters who provide a stamped, self-addressed return envelope to the Fair Hill office in Elkton.

The deadline for submitting applications to the Fair Hill Office, at the intersection of Routes 213 and 273, is Nov. 26.

Hunters may note their choice of hunting dates on their applications.

Tree stands will not be permitted during the hunt. Arrangements may be made for hunters with disabilities.

An optional sight-in day is set for Dec. 19 at the Elk Neck State Forest range at North East.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.