25 honored for providing recreation aid 8,255 people gave 184,000 hours

November 07, 1993|By Katherine Richards | Katherine Richards,Staff Writer

The Carroll County Department of Recreation and Parks honored 25 Volunteers of the Year representing 20 recreation councils at a reception Thursday evening at the Hashawha Environmental Appreciation Center.

Parks and Recreation Department Director Richard Soisson said that 8,255 volunteers in Carroll spent 184,000 hours on department programs in 1993, up from 2,039 volunteers who donated 95,000 hours in 1983.

He said the number of people attending recreation programs had jumped from 379,000 to 686,000 over the 10-year period.

Barbara L. Gundina, the county's recreation supervisor, said that one factor contributing to the growth of voluntarism in recreation programs has been the development over the past decade of several countywide special interest recreation councils, such as the Therapeutic Recreation Council, the Seniors in Action Recreation Council and the Carroll County Equestrian Council.

At Thursday's ceremony, guest speaker Susan White-Bowden, who spoke of her own volunteer work with hospitalized children, said every volunteer has the power to change others' lives.

She said every volunteer sends to the people being helped "the unspoken message that you must be pretty important, because here is somebody spending time . . . on you."

Each recreation council nominated its own Volunteer of the Year.

The winners' activities varied widely, from coaching soccer to doing office chores to creating a long-range park facilities plan to helping build a planetarium dome.

Plaques were presented to the following Volunteers of the Year:

Carroll County Arts Council: Richard and Nancy Horn.

Carroll County Equestrian Council: Albert "Sonny" Biddison.

Carroll County Farm Museum: Kate Van Fossen.

Charles Carroll Recreation Council: Vernon Smith.

Deer Park Recreation Council: John Fitzgerald.

Freedom Area Recreation Council: Calvin Green.

Hashawha-Bear Branch Advisory Council: Ron Smith.

Mount Airy Recreation Council: Bryant Dulany, Pat Weddle and Vern Lepore.

New Windsor Recreation Council: Kevin and Judy Null.

North Carroll Recreation Council: Jim Deiaco.

Piney Run Recreation and Conservation Council: Jean Thomas.

Pleasant Valley Recreation Council: Joyce Seeley.

Sandymount Recreation Council: Charles Chaney.

Seniors In Action Recreation Council: Al and Bea Waltz.

Therapeutic Recreation Council: Ruth McKay.

Union Bridge Recreation Council: Brian Klein.

Westminster Area Recreation Council: Ed Calwell.

Winfield Recreation Council: Ernie Pittinger.

Woodbine Recreation Council: Shawn Franklin.

Youth Recreation Council: Angie Diehlmann.

The Taneytown Area Recreation Council did not nominate a volunteer, Ms. Gundina said.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.