Planned communications tower draws fire Frizzellburg residents fear eyesore, health problems

September 21, 1993|By Kerry O'Rourke | Kerry O'Rourke,Staff Writer

Thirteen Frizzellburg residents are challenging a Carroll Board of Zoning Appeals decision to allow a Cellular One communications tower in the 1400 block of Richardson Road.

The residents filed an appeal in Carroll Circuit Court on Friday.

At a zoning hearing in July, some residents testified that the tower might cause health problems and would be an "eyesore" that could lower property values.

The zoning appeals board voted 2-1 to give Cellular One permission to build a 250-foot tower on the Robert E. and Audrey J. Warner farm at 1418 Richardson Road.

Carroll's Planning Commission is scheduled to review a site plan for the tower at its meeting this morning.

Residents who appealed the zoning decision live on Richardson Road and Leeward Drive. They are Merle and Gloria Baile, Thomas Dobry, Junior and Trish Hensley, Dennis and Diane Jessen, Dennis and Nancy Mackowski, John and Barbara Rupp, and Frank and Kay Tippett.

They are represented by Westminster attorneys Brian Jay McNamara and Thomas F. Stansfield. The attorneys could not be reached for comment yesterday.

Cellular One officials say they need the tower to cope with increased demand for their service. The company's business increased by 40 percent in Carroll last year, real estate manager Jeff Owens said at the zoning hearing.

In June, the zoning board gave the company permission to build a 150-foot tower at 6271 Oakland Mill Road in Sykesville. No one opposed that tower.

The Planning Commission also is scheduled to review that site plan today.

Cellular One withdrew a request to build a 200-foot tower near Winfield Elementary School after school officials and neighbors complained of health concerns. The company proposed building a tower at 4416 Salem Bottom Road.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.