New library chief ran Miami system

September 19, 1993|By Liz Atwood | Liz Atwood,Staff Writer

The head of the Miami-Dade Public Library System will be taking over as director of the Anne Arundel libraries this fall.

Ronald S. Kozlowski will replace Edward B. Hall, who retired in June after 22 years.

Mr. Kozlowski is to begin work in the $78,000-a-year job Nov. 1.

Mr. Kozlowski said he is leaving a library system three times larger than Anne Arundel's because he wanted to be closer to his children, who live in the Washington area.

He also expressed interest in working in Maryland because of its reputation for strong patronage and funding support.

"Mr. Kozlowski is a leader in his profession," said library board President Barrett L. McKown. "We are fortunate to have someone of his experience and stature."

Mr. Kozlowski has been in charge of the Miami-Dade library system since 1989. That system is the ninth largest in the country, with 29 branches, an operating budget of $31 million and a staff of 675 people.

In Anne Arundel, he will oversee a library system of 14 branches, an operating budget of $10.5 million and a staff of 368 people.

Mr. Kozlowski was chosen from 40 applicants. Mr. McKown said the seven-member search committee was impressed with his easy-going manner and extensive experience.

Mr. Kozlowski, 55, has nearly 20 years of experience as director of major public libraries. He headed library systems in Cuyahoga County, Ohio; Charlotte-Mecklenburg, N.C.; and Louisville, Ky.

A native of Chicago, he earned a bachelor's degree in English and journalism from Illinois State University and a master's degree in library science from Rosary College in River Forest, Ill.

Mr. McKown said the board will be looking to Mr. Kozlowski to help update the county library's computer systems and oversee building construction and renovations.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.