Freshmen win $500 scholarships


September 15, 1993

Six first-year students at Carroll Community College each received a $500 Commissioners' Scholarship yesterday from a combination of county and private sources.

The six scholars who will be chosen next year will receive $1,000 each, because the county commissioners and the college decided to put aside more money for the awards to keep up with rising tuition, said Robert Koermer, coordinator of enrollment services at Carroll Community College.

This year's winners are: Kristina A. Kirk of Francis Scott Key High School; Lisa V. Sauter, North Carroll High; Jason E. Sherfey, Liberty High; Julie K. Stewart, Carroll County Career and Technology Center; Hannah E. Stone, Westminster High; and Nicolette A. Sutphin, South Carroll High.

Each year, the college's scholarship committee chooses six students for the Commissioners' Scholarships. The committee picks one from each of the county's five high schools, plus another student who attended the career center.

The pool of money for the past six years has been $3,000, with half coming from the commissioners and half from private sources, Mr. Koermer said.

This year, the college asked the commissioners to double their share, with the college also promising to raise twice as much as before.

"We felt the scholarships needed to increase," Mr. Koermer said. "It no longer was covering a decent portion of the students' expenses."

nTC The average cost for a year of full-time enrollment at the college is $1,200 to $1,500, depending on how many credit hours the student takes, Mr. Koermer said. Tuition is $48 -- plus a $2 student activity fee -- per credit hour.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.