Council delays vote on plan to rezone West St. for 30 days

September 14, 1993|By Tom Bowman | Tom Bowman,Staff Writer

The Annapolis City Council voted 6-3 last night to postpon action on a rezoning plan for West Street for 30 days, offering area residents time to comment on the proposal.

XTC The establishment of a Business Corridor Enhancement (BCE) District between Legion Avenue and Route 2 would change the zoning from industrial to business, said Alderman Samuel Gilmer.

Mr. Gilmer said the new zoning is needed because industrial companies are leaving the city in search of more space. Smaller businesses, such as flower shops, are unable to move in because of the current zoning classification, he said.

The Ward 3 Democrat said he was annoyed at attempts to delay a vote on the plan because it had been studied long enough and residents had a chance at hearings to voice their opinions.

But Alderman Joseph Sachs, a Ward 4 Republican, noted the three-year study did not have citizen input and suggested the delay. Residents are not necessarily opposed to the new zoning, but want a chance to review the plan, Mr. Sachs said.

In other business, the council:

* Postponed until Sept. 27 action on a resolution that would impose a moratorium on applications to serve food and alcoholic beverages beyond midnight.

Alderman John Hammond, a Ward 1 Republican and sponsor of the measure, said the delay would give business groups a chance to comment on the proposal.

Alderman Carl O. Snowden, a Ward 5 Democrat, said he was concerned by the measure because the council would be "allowing regulation rather than free enterprise" to determine business in downtown Annapolis.

* Referred to its Rules Committee a measure sponsored by Mr. Snowden that would require all streets constructed in new subdivisions to be owned by the city and conform to city standards.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.