Men's softballB-L Painting and Rollins Construction were...


September 07, 1993|By Mike Nortrup

Men's softball

B-L Painting and Rollins Construction were the winners in the recent Mount Airy Men's Softball League's postseason tournament.

B-L, which had finished second in the regular season, went undefeated in four games. It crushed M. C. Landscaping, 26-10, in the title game for the A Division, made up of the top 10 regular-season finishers in the 18-team league.

Rollins came out of the losers' bracket to beat B-D Auto Parts, 9-3, in the "if" game to take the title of the B Division, made up of the other eight teams.

Rollins pitcher Gary Kaetzel limited B-D to six hits in the championship game.

Rollins had beaten B-D, 7-5, in the previous game to force a final game in the double-elimination event.

In the regular-season standings, Rollins finished 11th and B-D 12th.

Rollins had also won both regular-season games between the two. B-D reversed things in their first postseason meeting, when it sent Rollins into the losers' bracket, 7-3.

Rollins won its next five games, including a 15-3 romp over Moulding and Millwork in the losers'-bracket final.

John Ford and Jeremy Appleby went 3-for-4 for Rollins, and Appleby had three RBI. Patrick Rollins went 3-for-3 and drove in two.

B-D held a 5-4 lead in the top of the seventh in the first championship game. But Robert Kerth's three-run homer lifted Rollins to a 7-5 win.

Appleby went 3-for-4 and scored twice.

B-D was ahead 3-1 after three innings in the finale, but Gary Taylor put Rollins ahead for good with a three-run home run in the top of the fourth.

Kerth nailed it down with a two-run homer in the sixth. Third baseman Kerth batted .764 (13-for-17) in the tournament with five home runs and 16 RBI.

Dave Philpott also had a good tourney, batting .555 (10-for-18), and Appleby hit .541 (13-for-24).

B-L had to come from behind to win its opening game against Mount Airy Mobil. It trailed 6-5 after four innings, but scored two in the fifth to go ahead for good.

Darren Jarvis singled to tie the game, and Mike Zigler's single put B-L ahead for good. Jim Bostic went 3-for-3 for the winners.

B-L then thumped Safari Restaurant, 16-6, in a game shortened to five innings by the league's 10-run mercy rule.

Chris Oberg supplied the power for the winners with five RBI on two homers.

Then came Holmes Tire, which had beaten B-L in both regular-season games and dominated the league with a 33-1 record.

But B-L won an extra-inning thriller, 15-12, when Jarvis hit a three-run homer in the bottom on the eighth to win it.

Holmes took a 7-1 lead before Steve Fitzgerald's grand slam and Jarvis' two-run shot keyed a seven-run third that put B-L ahead 8-7.

Holmes was back on top 12-10 in the seventh, but Bostic hit a two-run single to tie the game.

Holmes was unable to break the 12-12 tie in the top of the eighth, and B-L won in the home half.

In the championship game, M.C. Landscaping took a 7-0 lead after one inning.

But B-L went on to drown the Damascus-based squad with a 33-hit attack. Jarvis, who had two homers, hit a two-run blast in a seven-run second that put B-L ahead 9-7.

Chris Oberg's two-run shot in the third made is 11-7, and B-L cruised the rest of the way.

Oberg was 4-for-5, Bostic went 4-for-5 with four RBI and Mike Double was 4-for-5 for B-L.


The first-place Westminster Smashers closed out their Carroll County Tennis Federation Summer League regular season by topping the Finksburg Killer Bees, 4-2.

The Smashers' Jenny Williams won the women's singles match by default and teamed with Ellen Hartle to win women's doubles, 6-3, 7-6, 9-7.

Adrian Mihaescu and Lynn Larimer completed a perfect season with their 10th consecutive mixed doubles victory for the Smashers.

The Smashers' Duane Yingling and Gene Grosh won in mixed doubles, 6-2, 3-6, 6-4.

Finksburg's Denny Broderick won, 6-3, 7-6, 7-5, in men's No. 1 singles, and his team also won a match by default.

L The Westminster Aces tripped the Hampstead Racqueteers, 5-1.

Debbie Courter had a big day. She teamed with Allen Anthony to win, 6-4, 6-0, in mixed doubles and combined with Maria Vailas for a 6-1, 6-2 women's doubles victory.

Barry Troxell and Chris Weber won, 6-4, 6-1, in men's doubles, Mike Rowe took men's No. 1 singles, and Kevin Resh No. 2 men's singles.

The Racqueteers won a match by default.

The Smashers and the regular-season second-place Aces play for the league title at 4 p.m. Sept. 19 at the Westminster Playground.

L The Winfield Hammers topped the Finksburg First Serves, 6-0.

Carole Fortney and Dottie Clayton took the women's doubles match, 6-2, 6-4. Carole and Don Fortney won mixed doubles, 6-1, 4-6, 6-2. Bernie Polischuk won, 6-1, 6-2, in men's No. 2 singles and teamed with Dennis Ohme to win men's doubles, 6-2, 6-2.

Craig Gordon won, 6-4, 6-3, in men's No. 1 singles, and Sue Hilker won, 6-0, 6-2, in women's singles.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.