Twelve local stars on deck for All-Star doubleheader

August 31, 1993|By Pat O'Malley | Pat O'Malley,Staff Writer

Five players from state 4A baseball champion Arundel and seven from Anne Arundel Community College have been chosen to represent Anne Arundel County in the 14th Annual Baltimore Sun for Anne Arundel County-Oriolelanders All- Star doubleheader at 1 p.m. Sunday at Joe Cannon Stadium in Harman's.

The local Baltimore Sun for Anne Arundel County team was selected after a series of tryouts for Anne Arundel 15- to 21-year-olds last week while the Oriolelanders held tryouts for over 100 players in Frederick this weekend to assemble their mid-Atlantic area team.

Baltimore Orioles' scouting supervisor Jim Gilbert and his staff pick the Oriolelanders, and local coaches Frank Klebe (assistant Anne Arundel CC), Jim Simms (head coach Chesapeake High) and Pat O'Malley (Baltimore Sun for Anne Arundel County) select The Baltimore Sun team.

All-County shortstop Jeff Hedrick (.421), who led Arundel High -- (21-1) to the state 4A championship, a national title by Easton in Collegiate Baseball and Mayo Post No. 226 (63-11) to the state American Legion crown, will anchor The Baltimore Sun infield.

Arundel/Mayo Post designated hitter-catcher, J.P. Noon joins fellow seniors Hedrick, first baseman Kevyn Dodson and outfielder Tony Costanzo, and junior infielder Russ Allen on The Baltimore Sun squad. The latter trio sparkled for the Greater Glen Burnie Patriots this summer.

Two Arundel grads -- Anne Arundel CC outfielder Chris Durocher and Catonsville Community College infielder Tre Overstreet also made the team.

Overstreet batted over .300 at Catonsville CC this spring and led Reisterstown with a .520 average, including two homers in the Continental Amateur Baseball Association (CABA) 18-and-Under World Series in Indiana.

Durocher, an All-County outfielder at Arundel in 1991, led off and played center for Anne Arundel CC in the spring.

Other Anne Arundel CC players include 1992 All-Metro catcher Rich Spiegel of Northeast, freshman outfielder Todd Locklear of Glen Burnie and four pitchers: lefties John Degen (Broadneck), and Lee Haney (Old Mill), and right-handers, John Ritter (Severna Park) and Chris Sutch (Broadneck).

Haney joins a fellow left-hander and Baltimore Sun All-County pitcher in senior Jason White of Chesapeake on The Baltimore Sun 10-man pitching staff of five lefties and five right-handers. The other lefties are seniors Bob Christopher of North County and Norm Stephenson, of Northeast.

Ken Pumphrey, a 6-foot-5 hard throwing senior right-hander from Old Mill, who was second team All-County last spring and 9-2 this summer with the Little Orioles (55-16), Ian Taylor, a Meade grad now at Prince Georges Community College, and Old Mill junior Chuck Harris complete the staff.

Harris, a 15-year-old who was 9-1 with an ERA of 2.10 with the Little Orioles.

Severna Park outfielder Matt Griswold, who started as a sophomore for the Falcons and also this summer for Severna Park Legion, is the only other 15-year-old to make the team. John Bermudez, a second team All-County pick from North County, is another outfielder.

Other infielders are seniors Ryan Wood of Old Mill and Brian Sanders of Cardinal Gibbons in Baltimore. Wood hit .281 this summer for the Little Orioles.

Four Anne Arundel County products made the Oriolelanders fall team. Two are from Arundel High -- All-Metro senior pitcher Brandon Agamennone (8-0, four saves) and senior outfielder Wade Rolocut. The other two are right-handers Mike Bussey of Old Mill, who won 11 games for Mayo Post and North County's 15-year-old junior Mike Wooden. Wooden, who has won 21 games the past two summers for the Little Orioles, was an All-County third baseman this spring.

Patapsco infielder, Jerry Vecchioni is another 15-year-old to make the Oriolelanders, while left-hand pitcher Kasey Richardson of Northern High in Calvert County and catcher Brandt Childs of Damascus also made it.

K; The Baltimore Sun for Anne Arundel County All-Star Team Pitchers -- Jason White, Chesapeake; Lee Haney, Old Mill/AACC; Chris Sutch, Broadneck/AACC; John Degen, Broadneck/AACC; John Ritter, Severna Park/AACC; Ian Taylor, Meade/PGCC; Ken Pumphrey, Old Mill; Chuck Harris, Old Mill; Norm Stephenson, Northeast; Bob Christopher, North County

Catchers -- Rich Spiegel, Northeast/AACC; J. P. Noon, Arundel

Infielders -- Kevyn Dodson, Arundel; Tre Overstreet, Arundel/CCC; Jeff Hedrick, Arundel; Russ Allen, Arundel; Ryan Wood, Old Mill; Brian Sanders, Gibbons

Outfielders -- Chris Durocher, Arundel/AACC; Todd Locklear, Glen Burnie/AACC; Matt Griswold, Severna Park; Tony Costanzo, Arundel; John Bermudez, North County.

Coaches -- Frank Klebe (AACC); Pat O'Malley (Baltimore Sun); Jim Simms (Chesapeake) and Mike Ziegler (Little Orioles).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.