2 firefighters sue over injuries suffered in crash $650,000 sought in 1990 incident

August 27, 1993|By Mike Farabaugh | Mike Farabaugh,Staff Writer

Two volunteer firefighters are seeking $650,000 for injuries and damage suffered three years ago in the collision of a fire engine and a car in northern Harford County.

Lawyers for Beverly G. Leftwich of Pylesville and Richard K. Brooks III of White Hall, who were riding the fire engine to an emergency call, filed the lawsuit in Harford County Circuit Court in Bel Air yesterday on behalf of the plaintiffs and their spouses.

The suit names the driver of the car, David Edward Brode Jr. of Fallston; the driver of the fire engine, Cletus Norman Heaps of Pylesville; and the Citizens Volunteer Fire Company of Fawn Grove, Pa., as co-defendants.

The accident occurred about 9 p.m. Dec. 16, 1990, at Routes 24 and 136 between Pylesville and Fawn Grove.

Leslie Mae Hicks, the widow of Thomas Hicks, a volunteer firefighter who died of injuries received in the same incident, filed a $3.2 million wrongful-death complaint in Circuit Court July 28 against the same defendants.

The fire engine, with its lights and siren on, entered the intersection and struck a Camaro traveling south on Route 24, police said. The fire engine rode onto the car's hood, then flipped over on the passenger's side and pinned Mr. Hicks. He died two hours later at the Maryland Shock Trauma Center in Baltimore.

Yesterday's suit claims that Mr. Brode and Mr. Heaps were negligent by failing to slow and keep a proper lookout as they approached the intersection.

Each plaintiff is seeking $250,000 in damages.

The plaintiffs' spouses, David C. Leftwich and Kathryn Brooks, were included in the suit because their marriages allegedly have suffered. Each couple is seeking $75,000 for damage they claimed the accident caused to their marriages.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.