Back-to-school Primer

August 22, 1993

In Sunday's Howard edition, the starting time for Talbott Spring Elementary School should have been given as 8:10 a.m. and the starting time for Harper's Choice Middle should have been 8 a.m.

Also, the names of two new principals were transposed. Sylvia Pattillo is the new principal at Mount Hebron High School, and Edgar Markley is the new principal at Centennial High.

The Baltimore Sun regrets the errors.

Here's information you'll need if you have a child enrolled in Howard County Schools.

First day of school: Aug. 30

First day for teachers: Tomorrow

Winter vacation: Dec. 24 to Jan. 2


Spring break: March 28 to April 4

Report cards distributed: Nov. 12, all schools; Jan. 28, elementary and middle schools; Feb. 9, high schools; April 8, all schools

Last day of school: June 9

Lunch prices: $1 elementary schools; $1.35 middle and high schools; $2 super lunch in high schools; $1.80 adult lunch without drink.

Immunizations required: Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis, polio-myelitis, measles (rubeola) and German measles (rubella).

Standardized test dates: Maryland Functional Tests: math, Oct. 21; reading, Oct. 26; writing, Jan. 11 and 12; citizenship, Jan. 19. Maryland School Performance Assessment Program: May 9 through 20 for grades three, five and eight. Specific schedule determined by school.

School starting times:

7:30 a.m.: all high schools

7:45 a.m.: Dunloggin, Glenwood, Mount View, Oakland Mills, Owen Brown and Patuxent Valley middle schools

8:05 a.m.: Patapsco Middle

8:10 a.m.: Clarksville Middle

8:15 a.m.: Bollman Bridge, Dasher Green, Laurel Woods, Ellicott Mills and Hammond middle schools

8:20 a.m.: Longfellow Elementary

8:25 a.m.: Lisbon Elementary and Mayfield Woods Middle

a.m.: Swansfield Elementary

8:35 a.m.: Centennial Lane, Northfield and West Friendship elementary schools

8:40 a.m.: Bryant Woods Elementary

8:45 a.m.: Forest Ridge Elementary

8:50 a.m.: Jeffers Hill Elementary

8:55 a.m.: Phelps Luck and Pointers Run elementary schools

9:00 a.m.: Atholton, Rockburn, Stevens Forest, Talbott Springs and Waterloo elementary schools

9:15 a.m.: Bushy Park, Clarksville, Clemens Crossing, Deep Run, Elkridge, Guilford, Hammond, Running Brook, St. John's Lane, Thunder Hill, Waverly and Worthington elementary schools

New principals:

Ruth Heath, Jeffers Hill Elementary

Fredrika Hill, Swansfield Elementary

Thomas Bruner, Thunder Hill Elementary

David Lovewell, Patuxent Valley Middle

David Oaks, Hammond Middle

Sylvia Pattillo, Centennial High

Edgar Markley, Mount Hebron


School Superintendent Michael E. Hickey, 313-6674

School board President Dana Hanna, 313-7197

School board members Susan Cook, Deborah Kendig, Susan French and Linda Johnston

Board of Education meets second and fourth Thursdays.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.