High school senior to join library trustees board

August 15, 1993|By Phyllis Brill | Phyllis Brill,Staff Writer

The Harford County Board of Library Trustees will grow a little larger and a little younger next year when the first student member joins the panel.

The County Council last week approved the addition to the board, clearing the way for a high school senior to join the trustees as a non-voting member in July 1994.

"The board of trustees should reflect the people that it serves," said board chairwoman Mary Patricia Massarelli. "And what we were seriously lacking was a young person."

The board consists of seven trustees, plus a County Council member who serves in an ex-officio role. The student representative, like the council member, will participate in regular board meetings but will not vote or attend closed sessions.

Library trustees, who are unpaid, are responsible for setting the overall policy for the library's 10 branches. They meet monthly and work closely with the library director, Philip A. Place.

Mrs. Massarelli said the student trustee position was modeled somewhat after a similar position on the county board of education.

In April, every public and private high school in the county will be asked to nominate one student to serve on the library board during his or her senior year, beginning in July. The trustees will select a representative from the nominees.

"This is something we've been working on for a long time," said Republican Joanne S. Parrott, the District B councilwoman who was an ex-officio library trustee for four years. "We need to interest more young people in getting into library services."

"We're hoping it will be a very educational experience for some young person -- not only about libraries but also about how government works," said Mrs. Massarelli.

The board is accepting applications for three voting trustee seats, which are up for reappointment in December. Trustees are appointed by the county executive and confirmed by the County Council.

They serve a five-year term and may be reappointed for a second five-year term.

The seven voting trustees represent a cross-section of the county's geographic areas and occupations.

The terms of board members Marlene Magness of Bel Air, David Robinson of northern Harford County, and Dennis Pellitier of Havre de Grace will expire this fall.

All three are eligible for another term, but Ms. Magness and Mr. Pellitier have said they will not seek reappointment.

Applications for the board are available at any branch library and should be returned by Aug. 30.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.