School system plans curriculum screeningsThe Carroll...


August 02, 1993

School system plans curriculum screenings

The Carroll County public school system will conduct public screenings of curriculum materials on family life and human development for middle and high school students at 1:30 p.m. and 6:30 p.m. Aug. 10 in Room 271 of the Board of Education offices, 55 N. Court St., Westminster.

Information: 848-8280.

Shields is appointed CCC founding president

Dr. Joseph F. Shields has been appointed the founding president of Carroll Community College by the board of trustees.

On July 1, the two-year college's 17-year status as a branch campus of Catonsville Community College ended and it became independent.

Dr. Shields joined Carroll Community as executive dean July 7, 1991.

He had been chief executive officer and dean of Panama Canal College in Panama, and dean of evening and community education at Prince George's Community College.

During the late 1960s and 1970s, he worked in a variety of positions for the University of Maryland.

A native of West Chester, Pa., Dr. Shields earned a bachelor's degree from West Chester State Teachers College and a master's in education from West Chester State College.

He earned his doctorate in educational administration from the University of Maryland at College Park.

In his two years at Carroll Community in Westminster, he has guided the college through accreditation as an autonomous, degree-granting institution by the Maryland Higher Education Commission.

He also initiated several programs involving the community in financial and other support of the college. Building of the new campus at 1601 Washington Road also has continued under his leadership.

WHS announces honor roll students

These students earned a 4.0 grade average during the fourth quarter at Westminster High School:

* Ninth grade: James Andrews, Chrystal Clifford, Rebecca Dulaney, Todd Erpelding, Pamela Homiak, Vincent Horneff, Kimberly Klein, Jessica Little, Sarah Nies, Alexander Ober Jr., Allison Olenginski, Kathleen Perego, Vanessa Perri, Holly Seaman, Jessica Seidel.

* Tenth grade: Cheri Amoss, Karen Bussard, Sarah Chenoweth, Sarah Clark, Brian Dean, Timothy Dutterer, Christopher Geiman, Michael Haslam, Angela James, Christina King, Christine Mace, Thomas Mowbray, Nicole Santana, Carla Snook, Erika Wunderlich.

* Eleventh grade: Julie Backof, Kathryn Boner, Kevin Connolly, Kristen Haga, Stephen Heise, Luv Javia, Alethea Jonson, Eric Kennedy, Sandra McBeth, Michael Mitchell, John Morningstar, Jeremy Robinson, Nirav Shah, Jamie Szocinski, Timothy Tawney, Alice Tromble, Lauren Zuskin.

* Twelfth grade: Amy Boundy, Mark Bowen, Lisa Carey, Tomas Coen, Rebecca Fifield, Kera Foe, Bonnie Geiman, Denise Greeley, Price Hallman, Caroline Hare, Kara Hedges, Candiss Johnson, Sean Kassim, Keith Klunk, Amanda Koenig, Jesse Lindsay, William Mansfield, Kim Marini, Jay Merker, Mary Muller, Christopher Myers, Hosik Nam, Laura Seidel, Jessica Shickman, Jill Sisson, Pernille Skipper, Michelle Stonesifer, Amanda Stover, Ricky Vincent, Erika Weidner, Kathy Weishaar, Robyn Yanke.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.