Altemus is a winner in her first state Women's Amateur final GOLF

July 24, 1993|By Tara Finnegan | Tara Finnegan,Contributing Writer

All Kathy Altemus wanted was to have a good match in her first state women's golf tournament final.

She not only had a good match, but she got her first state title.

With a two-stroke lead, Altemus birdied the 16th hole to beat Sheila Dagucon, 3 and 2, in the Maryland State Golf Association's 73rd Women's Amateur Championship at Eagle's Nest yesterday.

"I've been playing really well this year," said Altemus, who played junior tournaments before she went to James Madison University to play lacrosse for four years. "I don't think it's really hit me yet."

Altemus (CC of Maryland) and Dagucon (Montgomery CC) were tied after the front nine, but Dagucon parred the 10th to go ahead 1-up.

"Sheila's an excellent player and putter. She was in every hole," Altemus said.

After evening the score on 11, Altemus won the 12th to take a one-stroke lead.

It looked as if Altemus was headed toward a two-stroke lead when Dagucon's tee shot on the 13th went wide and her second shot was stopped short by the trees along the fairway. But Dagucon wound up out-putting Altemus to win the hole and even the score.

"I escaped a bullet there on 13," Dagucon said. "My tee shot had a bad lie."

Altemus then went on to win the next three holes. Her tee shot on the 16th set up an eight-foot downhill putt for birdie.

Championship flight Kathy Altemus (CC of Maryland) def. Sheila Dagucon Montgomery CC), 3 and 2.

First flight April Hardisty (Caroline CC) def. Young Ja Kim (Hobbits Glen 7 and 5.

Second flight Mallory Crosland (Chevy Chase) def. Pressie Hoffman (Chevy Chase), 2-up.

Third flight Cindy Peterka (Sparrows Point CC) def. Beth Plecker (Manor 4 and 3.

Fourth flight Bobby Farr (Elkridge) def. Glena Wirtanen (Hunt Valley GC), 3 and 2.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.