* Aaron G. Bloom, tax manager at Schiller, Holinsky...


July 19, 1993

* Aaron G. Bloom, tax manager at Schiller, Holinsky & Gardyn, an Owings Mills-based certified public accounting firm, has been appointed chairman of the Federal Tax Committee for the Maryland Association of Certified Public Accountants.

* The Business Women's Network of Howard County, an organization for women who work or live in Howard County elected the following officers during its annual meeting: Janice Bauman, J. M. Bauman Associates, president; Lisa Berlin, Taking Care of Business, treasurer; and Loree Lough, LA Lough Associates, secretary.

The following were elected to the board of directors: Joy Lietzau, Business Communications Seminars Inc.; Bobbie McAdam, Meeting Planners Inc.; and Beverly Roberts, Independent Consultant.

* D. Romaine Towers, a personal lines division manager in the Annapolis office of Nationwide Insurance Co., has been elected to a one-year term as president of the National Association of Insurance Women.

* Kay Breeden, principal at Booz, Allen & Hamilton Inc., has been elected a member of the Conference Board's Advisory Council on Environmental Affairs.

* Kieron F. Quinn, senior partner in the Quinn, Ward and Kershaw law firm, has been nominated for the 1993 Trial Lawyer of the Year award.

* The Maryland Hospital Association Board of Trustees elected: Frederick O. Mitchell, board chair of the Upper Chesapeake Health System, chairman; David Daneker, board chair of Liberty Medical Center, vice chairman; and Ruth Wolf, board chair of Calvert Memorial Hospital, Prince Frederick, secretary. Joyce D. Bishoff, board chair of Garrett County Memorial Hospital, Oakland, was re-elected treasurer.

* The Maryland Association of Certified Public Accountants announced the election of its 1993-94 Central Maryland Chapter officers: Mary T. Weaver, The Hunter Group Inc., president; Robert L. Cardoni, Cardoni & Co., president-elect; Mitch Halbrich, Don Richard & Associates, secretary; and Diana Hester, Reznick, Fedder & Silverman, treasurer.

* Robert E. Sharkey, a partner in the litigation department of the Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger & Hollander law firm, has been appointed chairman of the Maryland State Bar Association Committee on Ethics.

New accounts

* Khera Communications Inc. has been selected by Force Consultants Inc. of Clarkston, Mich., to produce a series of corporate brochures to increase public awareness of its international computer consulting services.

Trade organizations

* The Anne Arundel Trade Council announced the election of: Andrew R. Lombardo, managing partner of the Annapolis office of C. W. Amos & Co., president; Arthur Ebersberger, executive vice president of The Ebersberger Companies, vice president; Paula McDermott, general manager of Capital Plaza Mall, secretary; and Ed Ladd, general manager of Marley Station, treasurer.

* Elected to three-year terms on the board of directors were: Robert Burdon, publisher, Baltimore Business Journal; Joseph Conte, president of J & A Builders; Martin Doordan, president of the Anne Arundel Medical Center; Paula McDermott, general manager of Capital Plaza Mall; Kay Price, president of J & K Distributors Inc.; Theone Relos, director of public relations and publications for Anne Arundel Community College; Larry Thomas, president of Chesapeake Bay Sportfishing & Charters; and Patrick Wathen, manager of external affairs for the Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co. of Maryland.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.