South Carroll High School Carroll County High School Award Winners

July 12, 1993

The following awards were presented to members of the South Carroll High School graduating class:

* Sons of the American Revolution Award: Chip Crowe.

* Greater Mount Airy Business Association Award: Beth Bonde.

* UMBC Scholarship: James Zuna.

* Cancer Society Award: National Honor Society officers.

* Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Award: Lahna Jones.

* David Heidecker Award: George Weisenborn.

* Carroll County Arts Council Award: (Creative Writing) Matthew Dietzel, (Fine Arts) Aaron Quidort.

* Villa Julie College Scholarship: Michele Patton.

* Richard Purman Memorial Award: Chris Hepler.

* Carroll Community College Commissioners Scholarship: Nicolette Sutphin.

* Taylorsville/Winfield Lions Club Award: Jennifer Brooks.

* Mount Airy Rotary Club Award: Jennifer Blair.

* Rash Memorial Award: Matthew Crill.

* Chris Russin Memorial Award: Billy Long.

* Outstanding Automotive Student Award: Billy Long.

* Carroll County Chamber of Commerce Award: Kelly Covington.

* Ray Kroc Achievement Award: Heather Daniel.

* The Sun for Carroll County Scholar Athlete Award: Nicole Robitaille, George Weisenborn.

* Learning Disabilities Associa

tion Scholarship: Brian Yanick.

* American Legion, Mount Airy Post Award: Nicolette Sutphin, Nicole Robitaille.

* Freedom District Lions Club: Billy Long, Charles Guzman.

* Freedom District Lioness Club: Holly Littlejohn.

* Mount Airy Lions Club Award: Tricia Fleming.

* Army Reserve Scholar Athlete Award: Nicole Robitaille, Aaron Quidort.

* Carroll County Municipal League Award: Kristine Clingan.

* U.S. Air Force Academy Appointment: Matthew Crill.

* Del. Richard Dixon Scholarship: Lisa Peltier.

* Roscoe Bartlett Congressional Scholarship: Ron Garrett Jr.

* Varsity Club Scholarship: Kristen Kinter.

* Outstanding Photography Student: Jeannette Schmitz, Jennifer Blair, Kevin Hanigan.

* Outstanding Key Club Members: Darryl Anderson, Kathy Marks.

* Governor's Merit Awards: Drew Baldwin, Jennifer Blair, Heather Daniel, Matthew Dietzel, Julie Hart, Heather McKenzie, Elizabeth Moody, Michele Patton, Lisa Peltier, Aaron Quidort, Nicole Robitaille, Christy Russ, Jeannette Schmitz, Jennifer Thorne.

* Varsity Club Award: Candice Blanchette, Patricia Duffy, Kevin Hanigan, Kristen Kinter, Jenna Mitchell, Melissa Moore, Kerri Murphy, Nicole Robitaille, Natalie Walker.

* Maryland's Tomorrow Most Improved Student: Darin Lowe.

National School Choral Award: Darryl Anderson, Doug Bradley, Nicolette Sutphin.

* SGA Leadership Award: Natalie Walker.

* Social Studies Outstanding Student: Margaux Locklear, James Zuna.

* Outstanding FFA/Agricultural Science Student: James Conaway.

* Outstanding Cosmetology Student: Michele Conaway.

* Rhode Island School of Design Book Award: Holly Littlejohn.

* Math Department Walter Stegman Award: Matthew Crill.

* Outstanding English Student: Jeannette Schmitz.

* Newspaper Quill and Scroll Award: Kathy Marks.

* Outstanding Home Economics Student: Kelly Seal, Kim Woodward.

* Outstanding Achievement in French: Nicolette Sutphin.

* Outstanding Achievement in German: Aaron Quidort.

* Outstanding Achievement in Spanish: Jeannette Schmitz.

* Stagelighter Achievement Award: Jennifer Blair, Kelley Wachter, Leigh Anne Reger, Daniel Bickish, Mike Burkindine.

* Science Department Awards: Matthew Crill, Lisa Peltier, Nicole Robitaille.

* Outstanding Student of the Year: Nicole Robitaille, George Weisenborn.

* Carroll County Football League Scholarship: Michael Dodd.

* Roscoe Bartlett Congressional Math/Science Scholarship: Michael Medvetz.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.