Community college enters new era Trustees, president begin new posts

July 08, 1993|By Anne Haddad | Anne Haddad,Staff Writer

Yesterday was filled with landmarks for Carroll Community College as the board of trustees met for the first time and appointed the Joseph F. Shields as the first president.

Dr. Shields already had been running the college for two years -- to the day -- but his title had been executive dean. Until July 1, the college was a branch campus of Catonsville Community College.

After the board came out of a brief closed meeting to announce the appointment, one staff member applauded the decision that most had expected.

"I think you would have had major mutiny on your hands if you hadn't done that," said Ellen Willis, coordinator of business and industry training, and president of the College Senate.

The seven county residents on the board, newly appointed by Gov. William Donald Schaefer, will make decisions on issues such as tuition, budget and academics.

They elected Barbara Charnock, an Eldersburg woman who teaches special education in Baltimore County, as their chairwoman.

She had been on the college's advisory board since 1984.

The board also voted to change titles of other administrators who are now vice presidents.

Faye Pappalardo will be executive vice president for planning and student affairs. Other vice presidents will be James Bruns, academic affairs; Alan Schuman, administration; and Karen Merkle, continuing education.

The college will continue an affiliation with the Catonsville school for some faculty positions, all payroll and data processing, and other administrative services.

The two colleges have agreed to keep whatever affiliation is mutually beneficial, Dr. Shields said.

Ms. Charnock said the college may want to look at more partnerships and affiliations with other colleges, in Frederick County for example.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.