Young winners of essay contest are announced PASADENA

June 30, 1993

The Kiwanis Club of Mountain Road recently announced the winners of the John Wilson Sr. Essay Contest for fifth-graders, and awarded scholarships to four county high school graduates.

The essays were written on the topic "Ways I Can Help Protect the Chesapeake Bay," and one fifth-grader was selected from each participating school.

The following essayists won a $50 U.S. Savings Bond: Erinn Sawyer, Jacobsville Elementary; Tessa Locklear, Solley Elementary; Katie Lyn Franz, Sunset Elementary; Jennifer Maguire, St. Jane Frances; Thomas Harold Jr., High Point Elementary; Debra Weinstein, Bodkin Elementary; Gary L. Raymond, Lake Shore Elementary; and Amanda Schuler, Freetown Elementary.

The grand prize winner was Thomas Harold Jr.

Scholarships of $500 each went to Ben Schmitt and Kim Jarrell of Northeast High School and Kristi Aten and Hallie Taber of Chesapeake High School.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.