Glen Burnie High honors standout graduates GLEN BURNIE


June 23, 1993|By BONITA FORMWALT

Sulynn Amrhein plans to go to the University of Pennsylvania.

Brian Ballard is going to Anne Arundel Community College.

Belinda Hopp has a swimming scholarship from Slippery Rock University.

Angelita Thomas received an academic scholarship from Vanderbilt University.

These are just a few of the students of Glen Burnie High School's class of '93.

If the names sound familiar, it's because you've been reading about the same students since they started their academic careers. Repeatedly they have put forth the extra effort that will give them a head start as they prepare for their futures.

The seniors were honored at an awards ceremony to recognize those who have achieved excellence in a variety of areas.

The following awards were presented:

John Knaus -- Colonel Smith Award for Outstanding Work Study.

Kimberly Lachner -- Colonel Smith Award for Outstanding Student in Resource.

Michelle Kryger -- Amy Everson Huey Scholarship.

Theresa Hallinan -- Ronald C. Bows Award for Outstanding Musical Achievement in Band.

Michael Mahaney and Christopher Murray were each honored with a scholarship in memory of William Dietz.

Awards to seniors from outside organizations included:

Paul Roth -- First place at Glen Burnie High in the American High School Math Exam; Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award.

Wayne Welch -- George Washington University School of Engineering & Applied Science Medal.

Shawn Gaither -- Bronze Good Citizenship Medal from the Sons of the American Revolution.

Angelita Thomas -- Dr. Richard Solomon Human Relations Award; award from the Annapolis Chapter of Links Inc.

Sulynn Amrhein -- award from the Civitan Club of Glen Burnie; award from Southgate/Oakwood/Horizons Pharmacy; Chesapeake Bay Roost's Old Crows Award.

Christie Oxendine -- award from Fleet Business School.

The recipients of Maryland delegate scholarships were: Brian Ballard, Nicole Bibeault, Michele Kryger, Christina Long, Judy Roberts and Beth Weidenhoft.

Stacey Bahr, Christine Downin and Buffy Newton each received a "Voice of the News" award in appreciation for their work making the morning announcements.

Three students were honored with Student Government Citizenship Awards -- Timothy Baldwin, Donald McKean III and Thomas Smoot Jr.

Peer Counselor Awards were presented to several students for their work throughout the school year mediating disputes and assisting fellow students with problem solving: Paul Alt Jr., Valerie Baker, Timothy Baldwin, Norman Bauer, Michele Churchill, Donna Juba, Tina Kuczinski, Rebekah Lanham, Sally MacDonald, Shondel Mobley, Cardella Motta, Anthony Peranio, April Sann, Guy Santiago, Neddra Smith, Kimberly Taylor and Beth Weidenhoft.

Christina Graham was honored for her perfect attendance from grades nine through 12.

Guy Santiago received the "Pop" Whayland Athletic Award and Robin Kloster was the recipient of the Kathryn K. Frantum Athletic Award.

These awards are given annually to the outstanding scholar athletes.

These athletes have maintained a minimum 2.5 grade point average throughout the school year. They have also excelled in leadership skills and attitude, making contributions to the team above and beyond.

The Jean Boyd Award was presented to Kelly Rodgers. James Gloede received the Paul Rusko Award.

The athletic department presented several students with Most Valuable Player Awards: Victor Cserer, boys soccer; Kelly Rodgers, girls soccer; Jared Wick, indoor track; Robin Kloster, indoor track, track and field and cross country; Charles Grubb, track and field; Thomas Strong, football; Andy Arnold, golf.

Also, Paul Musil, wrestling; Vernon Osborne, boys basketball; Bridget Davis, girls basketball; Mandi Buckheit, cheerleading; Lori Lynch, softball; Brad Brady, baseball; Franziska Gude, girls lacrosse; Phil Lawall, boys lacrosse; Jeff Boone, tennis; Tessera Giolli, tennis.

The individual departments also presented awards to students who have excelled in specific subjects:

Audiovisual -- Jason Caviness, Outstanding Stage Crew Member and Manager.

Art -- Annette Lovelace, ceramics; Lori Ferrara, drawing; Robin Kloster, painting; Guy Santiago, photography.

Business -- Lynn Kenney, accounting; Rhonda Witt, diversified occupations; Jonathan Foote, Business Computers I; Christopher Murray, Business Computers II; Melissa Schaffer, marketing; Lori Ferrara and Michelle Churchill, keyboarding; and Susan Stanley, office technology II.

Computer Science -- Paul Roth, outstanding student.

Dance -- Christine Downin, performance, choreography and production; Cara Thomas, production; Danielle Fracalossi, performance.

Drama -- Joelle Smith and Paul Alt Jr., outstanding students.

English -- Sulynn Amrhein, composition, literature, yearbook; Heather Jo Rounds, creative writing; Paul Roth, literary magazine; Tina Kuczinski, yearbook.

Foreign Language -- Amy Tubman, French; Melissa McClintock, German; Sulynn Amrhein, Spanish.

Home Economics -- Jacquelyn Haines, child development; Dayna Hornberger, foods; April Hoder, parenting.

Math -- Paul Roth, outstanding student.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.