Mount Washington comes back to take title, 18-16

June 20, 1993|By Marc Bouchard | Marc Bouchard,Contributing Writer

For yesterday's United States Club Lacrosse Association championship game, Mount Washington Wolfpack players and coaches donned T-shirts that read "The Pack is Back."

Before a crowd of 3,239 at Johns Hopkins' Homewood Field, the Pack came back in dramatic fashion, edging Brine Lacrosse Club, 18-16, for its third United States Club Lacrosse Association championship in the past four years.

"This is where we belong, and we proved it," said Mount Washington coach Skip Lichtfuss. "We came out and did what we had to do and proved that this is the best lacrosse team around right now."

Gary Gait led the Wolfpack with five goals, and Butch Marino, the game's Most Valuable Player, added four.

"It's a dream come true," Marino said of winning the MVP award. "Anybody on our team could have got it, but, for me, it's a dream come true."

After two goals by Mount Washington to open the game, Brine rattled off five unanswered goals to build a 5-2 lead with 2:48 left in the first quarter.

Former University of Massachusetts players had a hand in all five goals with attackman Scott Hiller scoring three, midfielder Tim Soudan scoring one and midfielder Tom Carmean assisting Roddy Marino (Virginia).

Gary Gait's second goal of the game brought Mount Washington within 5-3 as the opening quarter came to an end.

In the second quarter, David Donovan (Duke) increased Brine's lead to 6-3 before Mount Washington scored five unanswered goals to take an 8-6 halftime lead. Marino (Delaware) had three goals in the spurt.

"[Brine] has great players and they're not going to get down on themselves," said Marino. "We knew we just had to keep on fighting."

Brine fought back in the third quarter, outscoring Mount Washington 5-2 in the first 12 minutes. Donovan and Hiller led the charge with two goals each. Hiller put Brine ahead 11-10 with a behind-the-back shot with 8:06 left.

Two goals by Mike Morrill gave the lead back to Mount Washington at 12-11 with 6:20 left, but Randy Frazier scored for Brine with 2:54 left to make it 12-12 as the teams headed into the final period.

In the fourth quarter, the Gait twins took over, scoring two goals each as Mount Washington out-scored Brine 6-4 to take the victory.

"When you got guys like the Gaits, Rob Shek and Butch Marino on your team you always have go-to guys, and they were again tonight," said defenseman Dave Pietramala (Johns Hopkins).

The game was played in honor of longtime sports reporter James H. Jackson, who covered lacrosse for The Sun for 30 years before dying of cancer in October.

Brine 5 1 6 4 -- 16

Mt.Washington 3 5 4 6 -- 18

Goals: B--Hiller 5, Donovan 4, Soudan 2, Frazier, Marino, Boucher, Blanchard 2; MW--G.Gait 5, Marino 4, P.Gait 3, Morrill 3, Martino, Kelly, Deligatti. Assists: B--Goldstein 2, Donovan, Carmean, Breschi; MW--Latchley 2, Morrill 2, Shek 2, Martino. Saves: B--Toomey 15, McCabe 13; MW--Linthicum 19.

CALL championship

Mark Malczewski (UMBC) scored four goals and Dave Kasemeyer (Loyola) added three to lead Little Abner's to a 15-8 win over Westchester in the Central Atlantic Lacrosse League championship game.

Steve Marohl, one of 16 former UMBC players on Little Abner's roster, scored two goals and had three assists en route to Most Valuable Player honors.

) Westchester 4 1 1 2 -- 8

Little Abner's 4 3 7 1 -- 15

Goals: W -- O'Connor 2, Connolly 2, Malone, Hoynes, Bulger; LA -- Malczewski 4, Kasemeyer 3, Marohl 2, Gold 2, Flaig, Duncan, Morrison, Ignacio. Assists: W -- Duane, Malone, Hoynes, Connolly, Cuniffe; LA -- Marohl 3, Kasemeyer 2, Flaig, Ignacio, Monahan. Saves: W -- Gilman 8, Fiore 1; LA -- Lehane 12.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.