Princeton's Morrow is Player of the Year LACROSSE

June 19, 1993|By Marc Bouchard | Marc Bouchard,Contributing Writer

When David Morrow arrived at Princeton four years ago, his goal was to become a starter on the Tigers' defense by the time he was a senior.

So much for setting goals.

Yesterday at the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association's All-American Banquet at the Holiday Inn in Timonium, Morrow was presented the Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award as Division I's 1993 Player of the Year.

"I never would have imagined in a million years that this would happen," said Morrow, a native of Troy, Mich., who also was given his second straight William C. Schmeisser Award as the nation's top defenseman. "The way things have turned out . . . I really can't believe it."

Morrow, a starter since his sophomore season, led a Princeton defense that gave up just 7.3 goals per game this season and reached the Final Four before losing to eventual champion Syracuse in the semifinals. In 1992, the Tigers won the NCAA Division I championship.

"These are just team awards that I feel I'm accepting on behalf of Princeton," Morrow said.



Howdy Myers Man of the Year Award: Doyle Smith, Virginia

Frenchy Julien Award (USILA Service Award): Bob Sandell, Officials Assoc.

E. Doyle Smith Media Award: Jamie Hunt, Lacrosse Magazine

Edward A. Devine Memorial Award (Outstanding JC Player): David Signore, Herkimer CC

Ensign C. Markland Kelly Jr. Award (Outstanding goalie): Div. I: Scott Bacigalupo, Princeton; Div. III -- David Breslin, Ohio Wesleyan

William C. Schmeisser Award (Outstanding Div. I defensive player): David Morrow, Princeton

William C. Stiles Memorial Award (Outstanding Div. III player): Mike Esham, Salisbury State)

Lt. Donald McLaughlin Jr. Award (Outstanding Div. I midfielder): Ryan Wade, North Carolina

Fran McCall Award (Outstanding Div. III midfielder): Brian Silcott, Nazareth

Lt. Col. J.I. (Jack) Turnbull Award (Outstanding attack): Div. I: Matt Riter, Syracuse; Div. III -- Cabell Maddux, Hobart

Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award (Outstanding Div. I player): David Morrow, Princeton

Iroquois Nationals Award (Outstanding Div. III player): Michael O'Connor, Hobart

W.H. Brine Award (MVP championship game): Div. I -- Chris Surran, Syracuse; Div. III -- Cabell Maddux, Hobart

F. Morris Touchstone Award (Div. I Coach of the Year): John Danowski, Hofstra

Francis L. "Babe" Kraus Award (Div. III Coach of the Year): Fran Shields, Connecticut College

IWLCA AWARDS Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award (Outstanding goalie): Div. I -- Mandy Stevenson, Maryland; Div. III -- Gina Carey, Trenton State

Offensive Award: Div. I -- Liz Berkery, Harvard; Div. III -- Deirdre Kennedy, Hartwick

Defensive Award: Div. I -- Kerstin Mannig, Maryland; Div. III -- Beth Onderdonk, William Smith.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.